Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering


Congratulations to the Med Phys winners of the 2023 BEAMS Professional Services Awards

21 July 2023

a group of people holding certificates

On Thursday 29 June, colleagues from the Faculty of Engineering Sciences, the Faculty of Mathematical & Physical Sciences and The Bartlett Faculty of the Built Environment came together at 22 Gordan Street to recognise and celebrate the outstanding Professional Services colleagues who were nominated for this year's BEAMS Professional Services Awards. 

The judging process was rigorous, with numerous exceptional nominations making it a challenging task for the panel, so were delighted to see that Medical Physics Professional Services staff received recognition of their hard work and dedication:

Maintaining a sustainable estate to meet our aspirations:

Winner: Candice Boateng, Department of Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering.

Runner-up: Lee Bebbington, Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Delivering on equality, diversity, and inclusion initiatives:

Winner: Rea Souida, Department of Chemical Engineering.

Runner-up: Dylan Patel, Department of Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering.

Special mention to Johanna Novales, Engineering Sciences Faculty Office and Helen Pascoe, The Bartlett School of Sustainable Construction.

Delivering excellent systems and processes in support of UCL’s vision:

Winner: Han Wu, Department of Chemical Engineering.

Runner-up: Helen Crane, The Bartlett Faculty Office.

Special mention to Candice Boateng, Department of Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering.

a picture of a man holding a certificate next to a woman

These awards were set up to recognise BEAMS Professional Services colleagues' exceptional commitment and performance over the past year and celebrate their contribution to the UCL Strategic Plan and 2034 Enablers. Staff went to great efforts to gather high-quality information to support their nominations and overall, we received 110 nominations, which clearly shows how much talent there is across the three faculties, and perhaps more importantly an appreciation of our colleagues and the work they do.  

See all winners and nominees here