Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering


MPBE celebrates the achievements of its student community

15 December 2022

Female student holding a certificate with a male academic

On Wednesday 7th December, we were delighted to hold our annual Student Award Celebration which provided a fantastic opportunity to come together as a department and celebrate the achievements of our student community!

The Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering Student Awards help us to recognise some of the Department’s highest-achieving students each year and celebrate their success.

We were happy to be joined by Dave Walker, Director of Quality and Compliance, from Instron who awarded Rachel Wan, Karol Duque and Aaryan Hebbalkar with the Instron Prize for Best Group Research Project.

Our 2022 prize winners:

  • Emma Prevot - Sidney Russ Prize for Best Finalist Undergraduate Student
  • Valeria Dosso - John Clifton Prize for Best Non-Finalist Undergraduate Student
  • Ela Kanani - Joseph Rotblat Prize for Best Masters Student
  • Ioana Pinzaru - IPEM Prize for Best Research Project
  • Ahmed Abdulaal - CDT Best MRes Prize 2022
  • Simone Foti - Robert Speller Prize for Best Paper by a PhD Student
  • Rachel Wan, Karol Duque and Aaryan Hebbalkar - Instron Prize for Best Group Research Project
  • Caterina Vanelli Coralli - IET Prize for Outstanding Performance in their Engineering Degree
  • Dean’s List - Undergraduate: Wendy Gao, Asta Olafsdottir, Andrea Ripa, Caterina Vanelli Coralli, Emma Prevot and Cristina Ghica
  • Dean’s List - Postgraduate: Ela Kanani, Ioana Pinzaru and Ahmed Abdulaal
  • Andrea Ripa - Jackson Lewis Scholarship

Many congratulations from all of us at MPBE to our students on this tremendous achievement!