UCL Mathematical & Physical Sciences


Winners of MAPS Faculty Teaching Awards 2012

27 September 2012

The winner of the MAPS Faculty Teaching Award for 2012 is Dr Isidoros Strouthos (Department of Mathematics).

Many congratulations to Dr Strouthos for displaying an extremely high standard of excellent teaching.

Prof. Robb McDonald, Head of the Department of Mathematics, noted that:

"Isidoros teaches mathematics in the traditional way: using a board to carefully build a rigorous and logical argument in real time. He does this with patient and clear explanation, at a pace in which the audience are able to follow and understand. While mathematicians appreciate the importance of modern computer-based learning methods, they know that this traditional method works superbly and is also appreciated by students. What puts Isidoros in to the truly exceptional class is his ability to explain not just the mathematics, but, importantly, the context and the strategy in deriving particular mathematical results. This enables students to understand and comprehend fully."

Additional Faculty awards were awarded to:

Dr Michael Emes (Department of Space and Climate Physics) in recognition of the excellent industrial training he provides to students.

Dr Richard Thorogate (London Centre for Nanotechnology) in recognition of his excellent teaching support to students.

Mr Christopher Daw (Department of Mathematics) in recognition of his inspirational and excellent teaching as a Postgraduate Teaching Assistant.