UCL Mathematical & Physical Sciences



Encompassing the logical, experimental and mathematical study of our universe, UCL Faculty of Mathematical & Physical Sciences consists of departments highly rated for research excellence.

The Faculty of Mathematical & Physical Sciences consists of nine departments active in teaching and researching broad areas of science. The Natural Sciences Degree Programme, a 'virtual department' that runs our cross-departmental degree programme is operated directly by the faculty office.

In addition, the faculty has a number of specialised centres and institutes that coordinate research in fields that cross the boundaries of traditional academic disciplines, and hosts three EPSRC and one STFC Centres for Doctoral Training.

Centres and Institutes:

 Institute of Origins



Centres for Doctoral Training

Molecular Modelling & Materials Science