LMCB - Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology


Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

The LMCB is committed to equality, diversity and inclusion in the workplace. In 2020 we renewed our Athena SWAN Gold status in recognition of continuing to work at the highest level of excellence in promoting gender equality. The Athena SWAN culture is fully embedded in LMCB life; we adopt the mantra “simply good practice” to describe our approach to all aspects of our work. Our efforts have been recognised to have helped develop a culture in which all our staff and students flourish, and which increasingly influences other departments across the university and beyond. We will continue to make improvements to provide an environment that encourages scientific excellence for many years to come.

Current members of the LMCB’s Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Committee (EDIC) are: Sophie Acton (co-chair), Rob de Bruin (co-chair), Tasha Aley (student rep), Lucy Newman.

ED&I Outstanding Contribution Prize 

In 2018, the EDIC established an ED&I Outstanding Contribution Prize, awarded to members of the LMCB who have gone above and beyond their normal role to promote equality, diversity and inclusivity. Nominees for the 2018 prize were Lotte De Winde, Sian Culley, Agathe Chaigne and Louise Cramer. The winner was Sian Culley, for the resource she set up to support gender equality in the field of microscopy. Please see the 2018 EDIC award panel report here.

More ED&I resources