UCL Human Resources


UCL's Inclusion Awards 2021

20 April 2021

Nominations are now open for UCL’s annual Inclusion Awards 2021

UCL main quad at night

Do you know someone who deserves recognition for their equality, diversity and inclusion related work at UCL? Nominate someone from the UCL community for our annual Inclusion Awards.

UCL Inclusion Awards recognise work or contributions that individuals or teams make to progressing equality, diversity or inclusion practice within the institution.

Award categories

Nominations can be made in the following categories:

  1. Provost’s award for Embedding Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (staff only)
    This award recognises an individual or team’s effort to embed EDI into mainstream work through their approach and undertaking of tasks, be it day-to-day tasks or larger projects.
  2. Sarah Guise award for Catalyst for Change (open to staff and students)
    This award recognises a person or a team doing things differently by incorporating EDI values into the way they work, resulting in a positive shift in UCL culture.
  3. Sir Stephen Wall award: Inspiring Role Model (open to staff and students)
    This award recognises a person who has taken the opportunity to engage with members of our community, speaking openly about their personal experiences in a visible forum that encourages and champions diversity and inclusion in a way that our students and staff can relate to.
  4. Embedding Accessibility award (staff only)
    This award recognises an individual or team’s effort to embed accessibility into mainstream work, in so doing delivering a more inclusive experience for disabled students and/or disabled staff.
  5. Departmental Award for EDI Excellence
    This award recognises a UCL department or division (including PS) that has demonstrated the most EDI commitment and impact over the past year
  6. Staff equality network member of the year (staff only)
    This award recognises an individual for their voluntary contribution to a staff equality network, recognising impactful activities and commitment to EDI 


A £500 prize, in the form of a voucher of choice, will be made for each award. Please note this prize is per award category, so where a team wins the award, the voucher will be awarded on a group basis and not to individuals.


Any UCL member of staff or team/department can be nominated to receive an award. There are no restrictions on who can nominate within the UCL community, but they should be able to explain why the individual or team deserves the recognition.

N.B. Members from the EqualityDiversity and Inclusion team cannot be nominated for an inclusion award as they are paid to work in these roles and there are many staff and students that work on EDI issues in a voluntary capacity. The awards are about recognising the voluntary contributions of the UCL community.

Nominations will be considered by the Inclusion Awards judging panel, members of which are drawn from across UCL and also externally. When writing a nomination, please remember that the panel can only judge based on the contents of the nomination form, so please do include as much detail as possible on how the nominee (s)  meet the criteria for the award.

Nominations need to be submitted using the nomination form by 23rd May 2021. Late nominations will not be accepted.

Sponsorship and donations

UCL’s Inclusion Awards are very kindly funded by personal donations made by Professor Michael Arthur, former President and Provost of UCL, Dame Nicola Brewer, former Vice Provost (International), Sir Stephen Wall, former Chair of UCL Council and are also sponsored by Challenge Consultancy. 

Further information

You can find out more through the frequently asked questions page.

If you would like to discuss the awards further, please contact Sonal Bharadva from the Equality, Diversity & Inclusion team: equalities@ucl.ac.uk.

The award winners will be announced at a ceremony on 15 July, between 12-2pm

Submit your nomination