UCL Global


UCL's 2021/22 Global Engagement Funds recipients

25 February 2022

Congratulations to more than 60 academics across UCL granted seed funds to collaborate with international colleagues on innovative and pressing global projects

Businessman using a laptop with close up on world globe

This year’s Global Engagement Funds (GEF), now in its seventh year, has awarded more than £250,000 to a total of 63 projects led by academics from across UCL.

Each project was awarded up to £5,000 each, which will support UCL’s far-reaching collaborations with international partners in countries including Morocco, Malawi, Argentina, Nigeria, Sri Lanka and Ecuador.

The outstanding range of projects delve into topics such as psychedelics-assisted psychotherapy, climate change education and a multi-country approach to improving the administration of medicine to children globally.

One of this year’s recipients, Dr Rita Lambert, is using her award to collaborate with colleagues at the University of Deusto, Spain to understand the impact of the “hotspot” refugee approach on island ecosystems.

She said: "Given the political instabilities around the world and the climate crisis, the continuous displacement of people is predicted to worsen. The grant gives us the opportunity to better understand the kind of research and action needed to reduce negative impacts on the social and ecological systems of islands, earmarked as asylum hotspots, and to strengthen governance in light of a frequent disconnect between top-down government responses, NGOs and civil society groups working on the ground."  

2021/22 GEF awardees

Thank you to all of the 2021/22 applicants and congratulations to this year's GEF recipients:

Social & Historical Sciences – Dr Avia Pasternak, Professor Chris Brierley, Dr Helia Marcal, Dr Tom Pegram, Dr Antonia Walford, Dr Emily Woodhouse, Professor Vivienne Jones, Dr Jerome Lewis, Professor Gregory Thompson, Dr Alex Piel, Dr Inken von Borzyskowski, Dr Pushpa Arabindoo, Professor Parama Chaudhury, Dr Riitta Valijarvi

Arts & Humanities – Dr Ana Cláudia Suriani da Silva, Dr Patrick White

The Bartlett – Dr Rita Lambert, Dr Samuel Tang, Dr Alexandra Panman, Professor Julio Davila, Professor Haim Yacobi

Brain Sciences – Dr Jeremy Skipper, Dr John Greenwood, Professor Doris-Eva Bamiou, Dr Naaheed Mukadam, Dr Stephanie Efthymiou, Dr Madiha Shaikh, Professor Martina Callaghan

Engineering Sciences – Dr Thomas Miller, Dr Ilan Adler, Dr George Manos, Dr Alberto Alvarez Fernandez, Dr Mikaël Simard, Dr Kevin Chetty

IOE – Dr Roberto Filippi, Dr Jie Gao, Professor Douglas Bourn, Dr Karen Schucan Bird, Dr Golo Henseke, Dr Mary Fargher, Dr Tejendra Pherali, Professor David Gough, Dr Laura Outhwaite, Dr Tamjid Mujtaba

Laws - Dr Despoina Mantzari, Dr Silvia Suteu, Dr Michael Veale

Life Sciences - Professor Gareth Williams, Dr Smita Salunke

Maths & Physical Sciences – Dr Bayes Ahmed, Dr Anna Regoutz, Professor Nguyen TK Thanh, Professor Patty Kostkova

Medical Sciences – Professor Martin Widschwendter, Dr Cecilia Vindrola, Dr Paul Gill

Population Health Sciences – Dr Scott Chiesa, Professor Malcolm Walker, Nushrat Khan, Dr Dagmar Alber, Dr Emma Wilson, Dr Francesco Salustri, Dr Colette Smith

For the latest news about UCL’s international activity, partnerships and opportunities, subscribe to the bimonthly Global Update newsletter.