UCL Department of Economics

Prof Sir Richard Blundell

Prof Sir Richard Blundell

Ricardo Professor of Political Economy

Dept of Economics

Faculty of S&HS

Joined UCL
1st Sep 1984

Research summary

Microeconometrics, Labour Economics, Public Finance, Consumer Behaviour, Labour Supply, Inequality, Household Behaviour, Human Capital, Tax Policy Analysis. 

Teaching summary

Microeconometrics, Labour Economics, Public Finance, Consumer Behaviour, Tax Policy Analysis to Graduates and Undergraduates.


London School of Economics and Political Science
Other higher degree, Master of Science | 1975
University of Bristol
First Degree, Bachelor of Science (Honours) | 1973


Professor Sir Richard Blundell CBE FBA holds the David Ricardo Chair of Political Economy at University College London where he was appointed Professor of Economics in 1984, and was Chair of the Department 1988 - 1992. He is a graduate of the University of Bristol and London School of Economics. He was awarded a Knighthood in the 2014 New Year Honours list for his services to Economics and Social Science. He was awarded a CBE in 2006. Since 1986 he has been Research Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS), where he is also Director of the  ESRC Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy.  He was awarded a Leverhulme Personal Professorship in 1998. He has held visiting professor positions at UBC, MIT and Berkeley. 

He holds Honorary Doctorates from the University of St.Gallen, Switzerland; the Norwegian School of Economics, NHH, Bergen, Norway; and the University of Mannheim, Mannheim, Germany; University della Svizzera Italiana, Lugano; University of Bristol; and University of Venice, Ca' Foscari. 

He was President of the European Economics Association. He was President of the Econometric Society in 2006. He was President of the Society of Labor Economics in 2010. He was President of the Royal Economic Society 2011-2013. 

He is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, the British Academy, the American Economic Association, American Academy of Arts and Science,  the Institute of Actuaries and the National Academy of Science. 

In 1995 he was awarded the Yrjö Jahnsson Prize, given every two years to the best young economist in Europe (aged under 45), for his work in microeconometrics and the analysis of labour supply, welfare reform and consumer behaviour. In 2000 he was awarded the Econometric Society Frisch Prize Medal for his paper 'Estimating Labour Supply Responses using Tax Reforms'. In 2008 he was the recipient of the Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize given to a high level economist whose research combines both the theoretical and applied aspects of economics. He was awarded the CES-Ifo Prize in 2010 and the Sandmo Prize in 2011. He was the 2011 Downing Fellow at University of Melbourne. He was recipient of the IZA Prize in Labor Economics in 2012. He was awarded the 2015 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Prize in Economics. He was awarded the Nemmers Prize in Economics in 2016; and the 2020 Mincer Prize in Labor Economics. 

His published papers on microeconometrics, consumer behaviour, savings, labour supply, taxation, public finance, innovation, and inequality have appeared in the top academic journals. He was co-editor of Econometrica 1997-2001, co-editor of the Journal of Econometrics 1992–1997. He is founding editor of Microeconomic Insights. He was an editor and panel member of the IFS Mirrlees Review: Tax Reform for the 21st Century. He is currently editor and panel member of the IFS-Deaton Review: Inequality in the 21st Century. 

Website: https://www.ucl.ac.uk/~uctp39a/