Eastman Dental Institute


Celebrating our 70th Anniversary with friends and colleagues

29 November 2018

70th Anniversary -  front of Institute building

Thank you to all our alumni, past and present staff, and current postgraduates who joined us to celebrate our 70th Anniversary on 23 November.

Institute Director, Professor Stephen Porter, looked back on our remarkable history and explored our ongoing status as a world-leading centre for postgraduate dentistry.

Dr Stefano Fedele presented an overview of our extensive clinical research program whilst Professor Dave Spratt gave the audience a preview of our new facilities in the heart of UCL

We particularly pleased that Stephen Hancocks OBE, Editor-in-Chief of the BDJ, delivered a wonderful keynote address on his insight into the Eastman legacy. 

The afternoon concluded with the presentation of the inaugural Ivor Kramer medal. 

This new award, sponsored by Professor Kramer’s former colleagues and students*, recognises postgraduates who have achieved excellence during their period of study at the Institute.
Ramizah Rozaimee won the Postgraduate Taught Student medal. She completed the MClinDent in Oral Surgery earlier this year. 

Piyaphong Panpisut has won the Postgraduate Research Student medal. He completed his PhD in Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering, supervised by Professor Anne Young and Dr Lambis Petridis.

* Many thanks to Sabah Kalamchi, Teck Chaun Choo, Tuck-Chiew Chin ,Kee Hai Hoo, Fooi Chin Ng, anonymous, Khee Wee Lee, Hardev Coonar, Malcolm Harris, Naomi Harris, Hashim Yaacob and Jarkko Hietanen.

Mrs Kramer and Professor Malcolm Harris
Mrs Kramer receives a replica medal from Professor Malcolm Harris.