The Constitution Unit


Priorities for new MPs’ induction in the next parliament

05 June 2024, 1:00 pm–2:15 pm

The Constitution Unit. Priorities for new MPs’ induction in the next parliament. 5 June 2024, 1:00pm–2:15pm. Dr Ruth Fox. Dr Hannah White. Daniel Greenberg. Alistair Burt. Chair: Prof Meg Russell.

An expert panel discusses the induction process for new MPs.

This event is free.

Event Information

Open to







Edd Rowe

Whatever the result of the upcoming general election, a large number of new MPs will enter the House of Commons. A well-designed induction programme will be crucial for helping them to find their feet and become effective parliamentarians. So what do new MPs need to know about their roles in parliament and beyond? How might this differ from in the past, and how might such induction best be delivered? We will discuss these questions with experts from the Hansard Society and Institute for Government, the Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards, and a former MP.


  • Dr Ruth Fox – Director of the Hansard Society
  • Dr Hannah White – Director of the Institute for Government
  • Daniel Greenberg – Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards
  • Alistair Burt – former Conservative MP and minister

Chair: Professor Meg Russell – Director of the Constitution Unit