The Bartlett School of Planning


Dr Lucy Natarajan

Associate Professor

The Bartlett School of Planning

Faculty of the Built Environment

Joined UCL
1st Oct 2012

Research summary

Assoc. Prof Natarajan's research centres on Public Participation in Strategic Urban Decisions, including spatial plans, sustainability strategies, major infrastructure, and other major and large scale urban developments and strategy-making, and the roles and knowledges of civil society, publics, local stakeholders, and other 'lay' communities, and decision-makers such as government and urban professionals. Projects include diverse qualitative and quantitative research contributing to this field, particularly around frameworks for place quality, spatial inequality, the everyday, local ecologies, and other issues. 

Teaching summary

MSc Sustainable Urbanism Programme

Regeneration Project Module

Planning Practice Module

Urban Ecologies Module

Professional Planning Skills Module

Management for Built Environment Professionals 1 Module


University College London
Doctorate, Doctor of Philosophy | 2013
London School of Economics and Political Science
Other higher degree, Master of Science | 2000
St. Hugh's College, Oxford
First Degree, Bachelor of Arts | 1995


Dr Lucy Natarajan is an Associate Professor at UCL. Her research focuses on Public Participation in Strategic Urban Decisions. 

She is co-editor (1 of 3) of Built Environment journal, and Secretary General of Territoire Europe, an association focusing on sustainable practices and participatory urbanism.

She helps others in publicly engaged planning research and practice, particularly via the Clean Air Community (PI), 'Territoire Europe' (Secretary General), and 'The UK 2070 Commission' (Steering Group Member).

Currently she is focusing on spatial inequality, ordinary places, and clean air. Previously, she  worked as the Principal Researcher in the international department of the RTPI, the Global Planners Network, the Commonwealth Association of Planners, and in the National Center for Social Research working to the UK Government.