The Bartlett Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis



The degree consists of compulsory modules in term 1 and pathways* or recommended modules in terms 2 and 3, alongside a final dissertation in term 3.

Urban Spatial Science MSc

Urban Spatial Science 

Compulsory modules (45 credits and dissertation) 

Smart Cities and Urban Policy Pathway 

Data Visualisation Pathway 

Urban Modelling and Simulation Pathway 

All pathways have 30 credits of additional optional modules. At least one of these should be taken from within the CASA module catalogue - both could be, but students will also have the option to take one 15 credit elective (any UCL module) outside of CASA their programme of study should they wish, departments at UCL with suitable relevant elective modules are listed below. This allowance could be used with a 30 credit CASA module (e.g. Data Visulisation: Group Mini Project). In addition to the modules listed above (on other pathways) CASA also offers: 

Elective modules 

Departments at UCL with suitable relevant elective modules include: Geography, Science, Technology, Engineering and Public Policy, Civil Environmental & Geomatic Engineering, Information Studies, Computer Science, Bartlett School of Environment, Energy and Resources, Bartlett School of Architecture and the Bartlett School of Planning. 

*Pathway modules may change annually, but sufficient choice will be offered to represent the current expertise of the department.