The Bartlett School of Architecture


Ten Practices Selected for 2020 AJ 40 Under 40 led by Bartlett Alumni or Staff

6 January 2021

Congratulations to alumni and staff of The Bartlett School of Architecture, who have been selected for the Architect Journal’s prestigious list, published in December 2020.

New staircase at The Bartlett School of Architecture, 22 Gordon Street © Jack Hobhouse

The Architect’s Journal (AJ) published its ‘AJ 40 under 40’ list in December 2020, for the first time in fifteen years. Ten of the featured names include Bartlett School of Architecture alumni or current staff.

The list celebrates architecture’s “brightest up-and-coming talent” aged under 40 years old.

The 2020 cohort was chosen by a jury chaired by AJ editor Emily Booth alongside Lesley Lokko, architect and academic (also a Bartlett alumna); Oliver Wainwright, architecture and design critic (The Guardian); Sarah Wigglesworth (Sarah Wigglesworth Architects); and 2005 AJ 40 under 40 alumnus Anna Liu (Tonkin Liu).

The ten practices and Bartlett alumni are:


  • Kyle Buchanan (Grad Dip Architecture, 2008)


  • Chris Bryant (Grad Dip Architecture, 2008)
  • Caspar Rodgers (Grad Dip Architecture, 2007)
  • Tristan Wigfall (Grad Dip Architecture, 2007)


  • Amica Dall (UCL Material and Visual Culture MA, 2011 and current Unit Tutor for Architecture BSc)
  • Mathew Leung (Architecture MArch, 2012)

Jonathan Hagos

  • Architecture BSc, 2004 and Grad Dip Architecture, 2008
  • Co-founder of Freehaus with Tom Bell (Dip Architecture, 2003)

McCloy + Muchemwa

  • Steve McCloy (Architecture MArch, 2013)


  • Ramsey Yassa (Part 3 Architecture (ARB/RIBA), 2017)

Office S&M

  • Hugh McEwen (Architecture MArch, 2011)
  • Catrina Stewart (Architecture BSc, 2008 and Architecture MArch, 2011)

Shankari Raj

  • Architecture and the Built Environment BSc, 2004 
  • Founder of Nudge Architects


  • Doug Hodgson (Architecture BSc, 2004, Architecture DipArch, 2007)
  • Tom Lewith (Architecture BSc, 2004)

We Made That

  • Holly Lewis (Architecture BSc, 2005 and Architecture MArch, 2009)
  • Oliver Goodhall (Architecture BSc, 2005)

Our congratulations to each and every member of the practices recognised in the 2020 AJ 40 Under 40. It takes courage and conviction to set up practice, particularly those intent on challenging the status quo. As role models you inspire and motivate us, your achievements are hard won, and highly deserved.

Professor Bob Sheil, Director, and Professor Barbara Campbell-Lange, Deputy Director, The Bartlett School of Architecture

More information