Current Students

Rail Strikes and Examinations- Latest Advice 

It has been announced that the Rail Maritime and Transport (RMT) Union have cancelled planned strike action which was due to disrupt services on 25th and 26th May. All services will now run as normal on the above dates and there will be no impact on students travelling to examinations.


Top Resources
A-Z Icon A-Z Index
Term Dates Icon Term Dates
Directory Icon Directory Services
Portico Icon Portico
Registry Student and Registry Services
Student Centre Student Centre
Pay On-line Pay On-line
Study Abroad Icon Study Abroad
Timetable Timetable
Moodle Moodle
Map Icon Maps and Transport links

F.M.R. Walshe,Wilfred Francis White and AP & G Rees Prizes in Neurology

The F.M.R. Walshe Prize was founded in 1952 to commemorate Sir Francis Walshe's distinguished services to neurology in University College Hospital and Medical School, and was originally awarded as an essay prize in Neurology.

The Wilfred Francis White Prize was Founded at The Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine in 1977 by Mrs E White in memory of her husband, and was originally awarded as an essay prize in Neurology.

The AP & G Rees Prize in Neurology was founded in July 2011 by the then Clinical Neurosciences Module Lead, Dr Jeremy Rees, in memory of his late parents.

Awarded jointly from 2003 following the merger of the Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine with the University College and Middlesex School of Medicine.

  1. Three prizes may be awarded in each session.
  2. The Prizes are awarded by the Council on the recommendation of examiners appointed by the MBBS Board of Examiners.
  3. The awards are made to the three students who show the greatest proficiency in Neurology in the MBBS examination in Year 5.
  4. No application is necessary.
  5. The values of the Prizes are:

    1. 1st F.M.R. Walshe, Wilfred Francis White Prize £100.
    2. 2nd F.M.R. Walshe, Wilfred Francis White Prize £75.
    3. 3rd AP and G Rees Prize £50
  6. Each award is accompanied by a certificate.
  7. The award is announced in August.
  8. Awards are subject to the provisions of the General Regulations.

Page last modified on 10 sep 12 16:45