XClose

UK Dementia Research Institute at UCL

Home
Menu

People at the UK DRI at UCL

Group Leaders & Emerging Leaders

Professor Karen Duff

Centre Director

k.duff@ucl.ac.uk

The molecular causes of clinical diversity in the tauopathies

Team Members

 

Karen Duff

Dr Tim Bartels

Group Leader

t.bartels@ucl.ac.uk

Structure-function relationship in neurodegeneration

Team Members

 

Tim Bartels

Professor Gillian Bates

Group Leader

gillian.bates@ucl.ac.uk

The inter-relationship of somatic CAG instability, incomplete HTT splicing and huntingtin aggregation as pathogenic mechanisms underlying Huntington’s disease

Team Members

 

Gillian Bates

Dr Marc Aurel Busche

Group Leader

m.busche@ucl.ac.uk

Understanding and repairing pathological neural circuits in Alzheimer's disease

Team Members

 

Marc Aurel Busche

Dr Cara Croft

Emerging Leader

cara.croft@ucl.ac.uk

Investigating relationships between genes, pathologies, and neurodegeneration in dementia

Team Members

 

Cara Croft

Professor Bart De Strooper

Group Leader

b.strooper@ucl.ac.uk

Investigating the cellular reaction to amyloid beta and Tau

Team Members

 

Bart De Strooper

Professor Nick Fox

Group Leader

n.fox@ucl.ac.uk

From Patient to Bench and Back: Clinical Resources, Accelerating Therapies

Team Members 

 

Nick Fox

Professor John Hardy

Group Leader

j.hardy@ucl.ac.uk

Analysis of neurodegeneration

Team Members

 

John Hardy

Dr Soyon Hong

Group Leader

soyon.hong@ucl.ac.uk

Immune mechanisms of synaptic function and pathology

Team Members

 

Soyon Hong

Professor Adrian Isaacs

Group Leader

a.isaacs@ucl.ac.uk

Frontotemporal dementia and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis disease mechanisms

Team Members

 

Adrian Isaacs

Professor Giampietro Schiavo 

Group Leader

giampietro.schiavo@ucl.ac.uk

Restoring axonal transport deficits as a therapeutic strategy for neurodegenerative diseases

Team Members

 

Giampietro Schiavo

Dr Aitana Sogorb-Esteve

Emerging Leader

a.sogorb-esteve@ucl.ac.uk

Exploring the utility of synaptic markers in frontotemporal dementia

 

 

Aitana

Professor Sarah Tabrizi

Group Leader

s.tabrizi@ucl.ac.uk

Mechanism of the DNA damage response in Huntington's disease pathogenesis and relevance for therapeutics

Team Members

 

Sarah Tabrizi

Dr Frances Wiseman

Group Leader and UK DRI Programme Leader for Animal Models

f.wiseman@ucl.ac.uk

Mechanisms of Alzheimer's disease development in Down syndrome

Team Members

 

Frances Wiseman

Professor Henrik Zetterberg

Group Leader

h.zetterberg@ucl.ac.uk

Fluid biomarkers for neurodegenerative diseases

Team Members

 

Henrik Zetterberg

Centre Support Staff

Centre Manager

Katharine Buckle - k.buckle@ucl.ac.uk

Lab Manager

Michael Sheridan - michael.sheridan@ucl.ac.uk

Centre Research Administrator

Amber Simpsonukdri-admin@ucl.ac.uk

Deputy Lab Managers

Mireia Mato Prado - m.prado@ucl.ac.uk

Kevin Williams - kevin.williams@ucl.ac.uk

Executive Assistant to Centre Director

Samantha Henry - s.henry@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Technician (Animals)

Elena Ghirardello - elena.ghirardello@ucl.ac.uk

Technician (Animals)

Phillip Muckett - p.muckett@ucl.ac.uk

iPSC and Differentiated Cell Technician 

Samuel Crawford - samuel.crawford@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Histology Manager

Connor Scott - connor.scott@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Reseach Scientist (Microscopy)

Nic Cade - n.cade@ucl.ac.uk

Data Infrastructure Manager

Eugeniu Dinu - e.dinu@ucl.ac.uk

Associate Members and Co-Investigators

Associate Members

Kenneth Harris, Professor of Quantative Neuroscience, Institute of Neurology, UCL

John O'Keefe, Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, Sainsbury Wellcome Centre, UCL

Co-Investigators

Pietro Fratta, Professor of Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience, Institute of Neurology, UCL

Julija Krupic, Sir Henry Dale Fellow, Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience, University of Cambridge

Jonathan Rohrer, Professor of Neurology, Institute of Neurology, UCL

Benjamin Ryskeldi-Falcon, Group Leader, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge

Mina Ryten, Professor of Clinical Genetics/Honorary Consultant in Clinical Genetics, GOS Institute of Child Health, UCL

Jonathan Schott, Professor of Neurology, Institute of Neurology, UCL

Selina Wray, Professor of Molecular Neuroscience, Institute of Neurology, UCL