UK Dementia Research Institute at UCL


People at the UK DRI at UCL

Group Leaders & Emerging Leaders

Professor Karen Duff

Centre Director


The molecular causes of clinical diversity in the tauopathies

Team Members


Karen Duff

Dr Tim Bartels

Group Leader


Structure-function relationship in neurodegeneration

Team Members


Tim Bartels

Dr Marc Aurel Busche

Group Leader


Understanding and repairing pathological neural circuits in Alzheimer's disease

Team Members


Marc Aurel Busche

Dr Cara Croft

Emerging Leader


Investigating relationships between genes, pathologies, and neurodegeneration in dementia

Team Members


Cara Croft

Professor Bart De Strooper

Group Leader


Investigating the cellular reaction to amyloid beta and Tau

Team Members


Bart De Strooper

Professor Nick Fox

Group Leader


From Patient to Bench and Back: Clinical Resources, Accelerating Therapies

Team Members 


Nick Fox

Professor John Hardy

Group Leader


Analysis of neurodegeneration

Team Members


John Hardy

Dr Soyon Hong

Group Leader


Immune mechanisms of synaptic function and pathology

Team Members


Soyon Hong

Professor Adrian Isaacs

Group Leader


Frontotemporal dementia and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis disease mechanisms

Team Members


Adrian Isaacs

Professor Giampietro Schiavo 

Group Leader


Restoring axonal transport deficits as a therapeutic strategy for neurodegenerative diseases

Team Members


Giampietro Schiavo

Dr Aitana Sogorb-Esteve

Emerging Leader


Exploring the utility of synaptic markers in frontotemporal dementia




Professor Sarah Tabrizi

Group Leader


Mechanism of the DNA damage response in Huntington's disease pathogenesis and relevance for therapeutics

Team Members


Sarah Tabrizi

Dr Frances Wiseman

Group Leader and UK DRI Programme Leader for Animal Models


Mechanisms of Alzheimer's disease development in Down syndrome

Team Members


Frances Wiseman

Professor Henrik Zetterberg

Group Leader


Fluid biomarkers for neurodegenerative diseases

Team Members


Henrik Zetterberg

Centre Support Staff

Centre Manager

Jeshma Mehtaj.mehta@ucl.ac.uk

Lab Manager

Michael Sheridan - michael.sheridan@ucl.ac.uk

Centre Research Administrator

Amber Simpsonukdri-admin@ucl.ac.uk

Deputy Lab Managers

Mireia Mato Prado - m.prado@ucl.ac.uk

Kevin Williams - kevin.williams@ucl.ac.uk

Executive Assistant to Centre Director

Samantha Henry - s.henry@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Technician (Animals)

Elena Ghirardello - elena.ghirardello@ucl.ac.uk

Technician (Animals)

Phillip Muckett - p.muckett@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Reseach Scientist (Microscopy)

Nic Cade - n.cade@ucl.ac.uk

Data Infrastructure Manager

Eugeniu Dinu - e.dinu@ucl.ac.uk

Single Cell and Spatial Transcriptomics Platform Manager

Daria Gavriouchkinaukdri.scst@ucl.ac.uk

Single Cell and Spatial Transcriptomics Platform Technician

Modesta Blunskyte ukdri.scst@ucl.ac.uk

Fluid Biomarker Facility Co-ordinator

Elena Velevaukdri.biomarker.enquiries@ucl.ac.uk

Fluid Biomarker Facility Technician

Rhiannon Labanukdri.biomarker.enquiries@ucl.ac.uk

Associate Members and Co-Investigators

Associate Members

Kenneth Harris, Professor of Quantative Neuroscience, Institute of Neurology, UCL

John O'Keefe, Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, Sainsbury Wellcome Centre, UCL


Pietro Fratta, Professor of Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience, Institute of Neurology, UCL

Julija Krupic, Sir Henry Dale Fellow, Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience, University of Cambridge

Jonathan Rohrer, Professor of Neurology, Institute of Neurology, UCL

Benjamin Ryskeldi-Falcon, Group Leader, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge

Mina Ryten, Professor of Clinical Genetics/Honorary Consultant in Clinical Genetics, GOS Institute of Child Health, UCL

Jonathan Schott, Professor of Neurology, Institute of Neurology, UCL

Selina Wray, Professor of Molecular Neuroscience, Institute of Neurology, UCL