Safety Services


Work Operational Health and Safety Sub-Committee: membership

The membership of the Work Operational Health and Safety Sub-Committee.

On this page you will find the details of:

Ex officio members

Executive Director of Operations - Mr Ian Dancy (Chair).
Director of Campus Infrastructure and Operations – Mr Adrien Cooper.

Director of Health and Safety – Dr Joanna Carrington.
Head of Safety Governance and Risk – Mrs Portia Lamb.
Director of Workplace Health – Mr Max Hill.
Director of Student Support and Wellbeing Ms Denise Long.

Faculty representatives

Faculty of Arts and Humanities – Ms Georgina Bolton.
Faculty of Brain Sciences – Dr Madisson Brown.
Faculty of the Built Environment (The Bartlett) – Mrs Jennifer Griffin-Walters.
Faculty of Laws – Mr Simeon Brookstone.
Faculty of Life Sciences – Mrs Michelle Smidak.
Faculty of Engineering Sciences – Ms Emma Price.
Faculty of Faculty of Maths & Physical Sciences – Dr Rob Wilson.
Faculty of Medical Sciences – Mrs Sonia Buckingham.
Faculty of Population Health Sciences – Mr Simon Galloway.
Faculty of Social and Historical Sciences – Miss Katy Hamilton.
Institute of Education – Ms Sarah J Hunt.
Vice-Provost (Research, Innovation and Global Engagement) - Mr Jeremy Barraud.

Trade Union and Students' Union representatives

One safety representative from the following Trade Unions.

UCU – Dr Alun Coker.
Unison – Mrs Joanne English.
Unite – Mr Damian Johnson.

One representative from the Students' Union.

Ms Deb Nichols.


Mr Jonathan Blackman.

Last updated: Tuesday, August 8, 2023