The PETAL Team

Chief Investigator (CI)

Prof Angela HassiotisProfessor in intellectual disability in the Division of Psychiatry at UCL and honorary consultant Psychiatrist at the Camden Learning Disability Service

Co-Chief Investigator

Dr Afia AliSenior Clinical Lecturer in intellectual disability at the Division of Psychiatry at UCL and an honorary consultant psychiatrist at the Waltham Forest community learning disability team


Prof Sally-Ann Cooper – Professor in Intellectual Disabilities and Honorary Consultant Psychiatrist (University of Glasgow and NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde)

Prof Umesh Chauhan – Professor in Primary Care Medicine at University of Central Lancashire

Mrs Vivien Cooper OBE – Chair of The Challenging Behaviour Foundation

Prof Richard HastingsProfessor of Psychology and Education and Cerebra Chair of Family Research in the Centre for Educational Development Appraisal and Research at the University of Warwick

Miss Rachael HunterPrincipal Research Associate in Primary Care & Population Health at UCL Institute of Epidemiology & Health

Prof Andrew JahodaProfessor of Learning Disabilities at the University of Glasgow

Dr Louise Marston – Programme lead statistician and also a member of the PRIMENT Clinical Trials Unit

Prof Craig Melville – Professor in Intellectual Disabilities Psychiatry at the University of Glasgow

Dr Penny RapaportClinical psychologist and senior research fellow in the Division of Psychiatry at UCL

Prof Laurence Taggart – Reader in Nursing at Ulster University

Dr Liz Steed – Health Psychologist at Queen Mary, University of London

Prof Andre Strydom – Professor of Intellectual Disability Psychiatry

Research Programme Manager

Dr Rachel Royston – r.royston@ucl.ac.uk

Trial Manager

Ms Rebecca Griffiths - rebecca.griffiths@ucl.ac.uk

Research Assistants and Associates


Ms Bori Vegh - borbala.vegh@ucl.ac.uk

Ms Elizaveta Dimitrova - elizaveta.dimitrova.22@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Amanda Gillooly - amanda.gillooly@glasgow.ac.uk

Northern Ireland

Dr Peter Mulhall - p.mulhall@ulster.ac.uk

Mr Gary McDermott - g.mcdermott@ulster.ac.uk

Former team members

Ms Sarah Ashley

Dr Farah Elahi

Ms Maria Lahab

Ms Leila Hamza

Mr Stephen Naughton

Dr Nancy Kouroupa

Ms Tamara Ondruskova