UCL News


New members of UCL Council 2017-18

20 July 2017

The governing body of UCL, the Council, will have seven new members for the academic year 2017-18: External members: Lord (John) Sharkey was Joint Managing Director of Saatchi and Saatchi UK.

Quad lit He is a member of the Economics Affairs Select Committee in the House of Lords, where he introduced the Private Members' Bill leading to the granting of a Royal Pardon to Alan Turing; Justin Turner QC, a barrister working in the field of intellectual property and other commercial disputes with a technical character; and Ms Sarah Whitney, a Chartered Accountant, founding director at Metro Dynamics, and a Senior Visiting Fellow in Land Economy at the University of Cambridge.

Elected members: Professor Patrick Haggard, Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience in the Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, and Dr Hynek Pikhart, Reader in Epidemiology and Medical Statistics in the Institute of Epidemiology and Health Care.

Student members: Ms Sarah Al-Aride (UCLU Education Officer) who graduates this year from SSEES, and Mr Hamza Jamshaid (UCLU Democracy, Operations and Community Officer), who is graduating in Mechanical Engineering.

Nick McGhee, Assistant Director (Governance and Secretariat), UCL Student and Registry Services