UCL News


UCL staff recognised in New Year Honours 2015

7 January 2015

Congratulations to the members of the UCL community who have been recognised in the 2015 New Year Honours list.

Portico Statue

Current UCL staff with honours conferred this year are:

  • Professor Peter Rees (UCL Bartlett School of Architecture) - CBE for services to architecture and town planning.
  • Professor Rosalind Smyth (Director, UCL Institute of Child Health) - CBE for services to regulation of medicines for children.
  • Professor Paul Ekins (Director, UCL Institute for Sustainable Resources) - OBE for services to environmental policy.
  • Professor Iram Siraj (UCL Institute of Education) - OBE for services to education.

Emeritus and Visiting staff with honours conferred are:

  • Professor Michele Dix (Visiting Professor, UCL Bartlett School of Planning) - CBE for services to the transport industry.
  • Professor Heather Joshi (Emeritus Professor, UCL Institute of Education) - CBE for services to longitudinal and women's studies.
  • Professor Geoffrey Hosking (Emeritus Professor, UCL School of Slavonic and East European Studies) - OBE for services to higher education and students.
  • Professor Susan Hallam (Emeritus Professor, UCL Institute of Education) - MBE for services to music education.

UCL alumni, fellows, honorary degree holders and donors represented in this year's list include:

  • Matthew Baggott, (UCL BA History 1987; Fellow) - KBE for services to policing in the United Kingdom.
  • David Emerson (UCL BSc Geography 1972) - CBE for services to philanthropy and charitable giving.
  • Alasdair Stirling (UCL MSc Naval Architecture 1985) - CBE for services to defence.
  • Dr Anna Van Der Gaag (UCL AFUG Speech Therapy 1979) - CBE for services to health and care.
  • Professor Caroline Whalley (UCL CDIP Applied Hypnosis 1994) - CBE for services to education.
  • John Hancock (UCL BA History 1971) - OBE for services to British commercial and economic interests in the USA.
  • Christopher Earnshaw (UCL Honorary Fellow) - OBE for services to engineering and technology.
  • Dr John Scadding (UCL BSc Anatomy 1969, MBBS 1972) - OBE for services to medical research and defence.
  • Felicity Aston (UCL BSc Physics and Astronomy 2009) - MBE for services to polar exploration.
  • Neil and Angela Dickson (Founders and Trustees, The Brain Tumour Charity - provided funding of £1.6m over five years for UCL Samantha Dickson Brain Cancer Unit) - MBE For services to brain tumour research and support.
  • Thomas Piper (UCL Postgraduate Theatre Design, Slade School of Fine Art 1998) - MBE for services to theatre and First World War commemorations.
  • The Right Honourable the Lord Young of Graffham (UCL LLB 1954; Fellow 1988; Honorary Degree 2006; former Chairman, Institute of Cultural Heritage; former Chair, Council, until 2005) - CH for public service.
  • David Bostock (UCL MSc Economics 1978) - KCMG for services to public administration and accountability.