UCL News


The EPSRC Doctoral Prize - Supporting UCL's Foremost Doctoral Graduates

27 October 2011

Under a new scheme entitled the EPSRC Doctoral Prize, UCL receives direct funding from EPSRC (Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council) to award postdoctoral fellowships.


Applicants for these awards are required to submit original research applications building upon the work of their PhDs, which are assessed both on academic merit and the strength of a longer term career strategy. Candidates must also be first-class doctoral researchers.

In 2011, eight awards were made. Between them, the 2011 recipients lay claim to twenty-nine peer reviewed publications and two patents. Colin Crick was of particular note, with five peer reviewed publications and a patent, in addition to four further publications in progress.

Crick said of the scheme: "The EPSRC Doctoral Prize will allow me to extend research into topics covered in my PhD, while also exploring commercialisation of existing intellectual property"

David Price, Vice-Provost (Research) and principal investigator of the scheme, said: "The recruitment and training of high-quality early career researchers are critical to our university's long-term success. These individuals can generate the vibrancy and vitality of UCL's academic life today, with many becoming the leaders of tomorrow. My congratulations to the awardees. Their outstanding achievements to date bode well for the contribution these researchers can make to UCL's future"

The recipients and their areas of research are listed below:

  • Bradley Augstein (UCL Physics and Astronomy) Novel orbit-based approaches for multielectron systems in strong laser fields
  • Colin Crick (UCL Chemistry) Hydrophobic surfaces for sterilisation/sanitisation
  • Kevin Lau (UCL Mechanical Engineering) Models of disease progression in heart disease
  • Andrew Newell (UCL CoMPLEX) Computer vision methods for forensic science
  • Oluwakemi Otegbade (UCL Earth Sciences) Platinum based catalysts for fuel cell applications
  • Efthymious Rouvalis (UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering) Photonics methods for Tetrahertz spectroscopy
  • Artemis Skaralatidou (UCL Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering) Web GIS for public engagement in space planning
  • Philipp Studer (London Center for Nanotechnology) Single dopant semi-conductors

The doctoral prize scheme is now closed for 2011 but will reopen in spring 2012. For more information, visit the link below.

Related Links:

BEAMS funding