UCL News


SLMS restructure: decision by UCL Council

20 July 2011

UCL Council recently approved the proposal to restructure the School of Life and Medical Sciences.

The new structure will come into effect on 1 August 2011 (with the exception of the School of Pharmacy - which is later in 2012).

I am grateful to staff who helped refine the plans which position us well to respond to a rapidly changing environment. I am pleased to announce the appointments of the new faculty Deans:

  • Professor Alan Thompson, Dean of the Faculty of Brain Sciences
  • Professor Graham Hart, Dean of the Faculty of Population Health Sciences
  • Professor Patrick Maxwell, Dean of the Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • Professor Mary Collins continues as Dean of the Faculty of Life Sciences.

I have asked the Deans to work with their new faculties to develop ambitious strategies by the middle of next term.

The rationale for the restructure is to better able us achieve our academic objectives. The new structure will improve representation of core strengths/interests at School and College level and lead to greater devolution of budgetary control. It will be coupled with a greater commitment to supporting interdisciplinarity and cross-Faculty working.

The new SLMS structure (pending School of Pharmacy and UCL Council approval of minor elements) can be found here.

Sir John Tooke, Vice Provost (Health) and Head of the School of Life and Medical Sciences and UCL Medical School