UCL News


Elections to the Academy of Medical Sciences Fellowships announced

6 May 2010

Figures from UCL Neuroscience feature strongly in the newly announced elections to the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Professors Nick Fox (IoN Department of Neurodegenerative Disease), David Miller (IoN Department of Neuroinflammation), Geraint Rees (UCL Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience) and Bill Richardson (UCL Wolfson Institute for Biomedical Research) join the ranks of the United Kingdom's most distinguished medical scientists.

The newly elected Fellows, commenting on their awards said:

"I am delighted to have been honoured by the Academy for my dedication to the scientific endeavour and my contributions to cell biology and developmental neuroscience over more than 30 years, most of them at UCL." Professor Bill Richardson

"It is a great honour to be elected to the Academy and I look forward to having the opportunity to contribute to its vitally important work" Professor Geraint Rees

"I would like to thank the Academy for this honour and in doing so acknowledge the essential collaboration of many colleagues at IoN and the National Hospital, and the longstanding support of the MS Society to my research." Professor David Miller.

"I feel very honoured to be elected to the Academy.  I think that the work the Academy does as an advocate for medical sciences is particularly important at this time." Professor Nick Fox.

Fellowship of the Academy is awarded to doctors and medical researchers in recognition of the excellence of their science, their contribution to medicine and society and the range of their achievements.

Professor Alan Thompson, congratulating colleagues added: "It is also a particular pleasure and testimony to the research strength of IoN and UCL Neuroscience to see that we have been so successful this year in having four fellows elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences."

UCL Neuroscience
Academy of Medical Sciences