UCL News


UCL Fellows and Honorary Fellows announced

17 June 2010


UCL Fellows brochure cover ucl.ac.uk/drupal/site_news/sites/news/files/fellows.pdf" target="_self">2010 Admission of New Fellows brochure (pdf)

A range of eminent individuals joined the list of UCL Fellows and Honorary Fellows in an inauguration ceremony at UCL on 16 June. 

UCL Fellowships (for UCL alumni) and Honorary Fellowships (for others) are awarded to people who have attained distinction in the arts, literature, science or public life; have rendered exceptional service to UCL, which may include philanthropic support; or have or have had a close association with UCL. UCL also conferred two Honorary Degrees this year as part of the event.

UCL Fellows 2010

  • Professor John Goddard (UCL Geography 1965), Emeritus Professor of Regional Development Studies, Newcastle University
  • Dr John van Griethuysen (UCL Mechanical Engineering 1975), Chief Engineer for Submarines, Ministry of Defence
  • Professor Noreena Hertz (UCL Philosophy 1987), Centre for International Business and Management; Distinguished Fellow, Judge Business School, University of Cambridge (Fellowship to be conferred at a later date)
  • Ms Mary Reilly (UCL History 1974), Partner and Head of Charities, Deloitte LLP
  • Professor Timothy Shallice (UCL Psychology, PhD), Sector Coordinator, Sector of Cognitive Neuroscience, International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA), and former Director of the UCL Institute for Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Mr John Walton (UCL Economics 1968), Founder and former Managing Director and Chairman, Asset Value Investors

UCL Honorary Fellows 2010

  • Professor Muhammad Akhtar: Distinguished National Professor, Higher Education Commission, Islamabad; Director General, School of Biological Sciences, University of the Punjab
  • Mr Neal Ascherson: Editor, Public Archaeology
  • Sheikh Mohamed Bin Issa Al Jaber: Founder, Chairman and CEO, MBI International (Fellowship to be conferred at a later date)
  • Professor John Birks Professor of Quantitative Ecology and Palaeoecology, University of Bergen
  • Professor Roger Ekins: UCL Emeritus Professor of Biophysics
  • Professor Saku Tsuneta: Director, Hinode Science Centre, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

UCL Honorary Degrees 2010

  • The Rt Hon the Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury (LLD): Master of the Rolls and Head of Civil Justice
  • Professor Charles Kuen Kao (DSc) (PhD UCL 1965): Nobel Laureate in Physics 2009

 Image above: Cover of UCL Admission of New Fellows Brochure 2010