UCL News


Eight international fellowships for UCL

18 March 2009


UCL Front Quad newtonfellowships.org/" target="_self">Newton International Fellowships

Eight international researchers have been awarded the first Newton Fellowships to undertake two years of research at UCL.

The fellows, and the departments they will be joining, are:

  • Dr Javier Carrasco (Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin), London Centre for Nanotechnology
  • Miss Marianna D'Arco (International School for Advanced Studies, Trieste), UCL Neuroscience, Physiology & Pharmacology
  • Dr Neel Dhruv (New York University), UCL Institute of Ophthalmology
  • Ms Martha Nari Havenith (Max Planck Institute for Brain Research), UCL  Wolfson Centre for Biomedical Research
  • Dr Simona Irrera (Institute for the Organic Synthesis and Photoreactivity, Bologna), UCL Chemistry
  • Dr Koon Fung Lam (Hong Kong University of Science), UCL Chemical Engineering
  • Dr Deborah Villarroel-Lamb (University of the West Indies), UCL Civil, Environmental & Geomatic Engineering
  • Dr Xiaobo Zhai (University of Peking), UCL Laws 

The Newton International Fellowships Scheme is an initiative run by the UK's leading academies -  The British Academy, The Royal Academy of Engineering and the Royal Society. The scheme covers researchers in all disciplines covered by the three academies - natural and social sciences, engineering and humanities.

The scheme was established to select the best early-stage post-doctoral researchers from all over the world and enable them to work at UK research institutions for a period of two years.

The scheme provides annual grants of £24,000 as part of a long-term goal to build a global pool of research leaders and foster international collaboration with the UK.

For more information on this story, follow the links at the top of the page.