UCL News


Two UCL scientists honoured by Institute of Physics

3 July 2009


ucl.ac.uk/medicine/" target="_self">UCL Division of Medicine
  • UCL Physics & Astronomy
  • Two UCL scientists have won 2009 Institute of Physics (IOP) medals for their outstanding research in nanomechanics and experimental physics.

    Dr Rachel McKendry (London Centre for Nanotechnology) received the IOP Paterson Medal for her internationally recognised contributions to the field of nanomechanics.

    Dr Matthew Wing (UCL Physics & Astronomy) was given the Moseley Medal for his contributions to the experimental programme of the HERA collider at DESY in Germany, the leading experimental facility for studying the detailed sub-structure of the proton.

    The 2009 IOP awards celebrate achievements in physics such as successful business applications along with leading research in a wide range of fields from astronomy to optical physics, as well as excellence in engaging the general public with physics.