UCL News


UCL announces this year's admission to Fellowship

16 May 2005

University College London (UCL) is pleased to announce admissions to its Fellowship for 2005.

Fellowships are awarded to alumni of UCL who have made outstanding contributions in their field or to society. Honorary Fellowships respect outstanding contributions by non-alumni.

Amongst the alumni, BBC Correspondent Jeremy Bowen will join Formula One car designer Patrick Head to receive a Fellowship alongside former Burger King President Nishpank Kankiwala at the ceremony to be held at UCL on Wednesday 18 May 2005 .

Former Breakthrough Breast Cancer Chief Executive Baroness Morgan will also collect a Fellowship along with explorer Dr Mike Stroud, best known for his record-breaking polar expeditions and Baroness Rawlings, Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development.

Author and genetics expert Professor Steve Jones becomes an Honorary Fellow alongside London Borough of Camden Leader Dame Jane Roberts and Nobel Laureate Dr Sydney Brenner.

The full list of this year's Fellows and Honorary Fellows:


  • British Council Deputy Director-General, Dr Robin Baker
  • HarperCollinsUK Chief Executive Officer , Victoria Barnsley
  • BBC Special Correspondent, Jeremy Bowen
  • KK Chu and Partners Founder, Ka Kim Chu
  • Senior Counsel of the Hong Kong Bar, former Solicitor General of Hong Kong and current Chair of the Hong Kong Broadcasting Authority, Daniel Fung
  • Williams Grand Prix Engineering Founder, Patrick Head
  • Former Burger King President, Nishpank Kankiwala
  • Former Breakthrough Breast Cancer Chief Executive, The Baroness Morgan
  • Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development , The Baroness Rawlings
  • Explorer and Endurance Expert, Dr Mike Stroud

Honorary Fellows

  • Nobel Laureate, Dr Sydney Brenner
  • Emeritus Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Prof Malcolm Harris
  • Emeritus Professor of English, Prof Dan Jacobson
  • Professor of Genetics, Prof Steve Jones
  • Emeritus Professor of Hungarian History, Prof Laszlo Peter
  • London Borough of Camden Leader, Councillor Dame Jane Roberts
  • Lord of Appeal in Ordinary, Lord Steyn
  • Wolfson Foundation Trustee, Lady Wolfson
  • Former UCL Vice-Dean, Prof Neville Woolf
  • Professor of Molecular Medicine, Prof Seppo Yla-Herttuala

Notes for Editors

1. For more information, please contact Jenny Gimpel at the UCL Media Relations Office on +44 (0)20 7679 9739, Out of Hours: +44 (0)7917 271364 or e-mail j.gimpel@ucl.ac.uk.

2. Every year, the Council of UCL awards Fellowships or Honorary Fellowships to up to twenty-five people who have made outstanding contributions or achievements in their field, either in academia or in non-academic fields such as public service and industry.

3. Fellowships are awarded to UCL alumni, i.e. to people who are former students of UCL. Honorary Fellowships are given to people who have contributed in some way to UCL, but who did not attend the university as a student.

4. The award ceremony will take place at the Cruciform Building, Gower Street, London at 6.30pm on Wednesday 18 May 2005.