UCL Judicial Institute



Find out about the people that make up the UCL Judicial Institute

Judicial Institute directors

The directors of the Judicial Institute have established strong working relationships with judges, policy makers and academic experts, enabling the institute to provide wide-ranging judicial studies 

Professor Dame Hazel Genn

Hazel Genn
Professor Genn is an internationally renowned scholar on civil justice, inaugural commissioner of the Judicial Appointments Commission, member of the Advisory Panel on Judicial Diversity.

She worked with the Judicial Studies Board for 12 years, serving as a member of the main board and the tribunals committee, and contributing to the design and delivery of training for the judiciary at all levels.

Professor Cheryl Thomas

Cheryl Thomas
Professor Thomas is the UK's first professor of Judicial Studies, the country's leading expert on juries, and a specialist in judicial decision-making and diversity. 

She has served as a consultant on judicial affairs to the Ministry of Justice, the Judicial Studies Board, Her Majesty’s Crown Prosecution Service Inspectorate, the Council of Europe, among others.

The Judicial Institute Advisory Board

  • Lady Hale, Former President of the United Kingdom Supreme Court
  • Lord Carnwarth, Justice of the United Kingdom Supreme Court
  • Lord Justice Jackson, Court of Appeal (retired)
  • Lord Justice MacFarlene, Court of Appeal
  • Lord Dyson, Master of the Rolls of England and Wales (retired)
  • Sir John Goldring, Court of Appeal (retired)
  • Sir Stephen Sedley, Court of Appeal (retired)
  • Judge Antoine Garapon, Secretary-General, l'Institut des Hautes études sur la Justice (France)
  • Professor Judith Resnik, Arthur Liman Professor of Law, Yale Law University
  • Professor Richard Susskind, President of the Society for Computers and Law
  • Alexandra Marks, Commissioner, Judicial Appointments Commission of England & Wales

UCL members of the Judicial Institute

  • Sir Anthony Hooper, UCL JI Judicial Fellow
  • Dr. John Sorabji, UCL JI Fellow
  • Professor Nigel Balmer, UCL Laws, Centre for Empirical Legal Studies
  • Professor Geoff Bird, UCL Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Dr. Basak Cali, UCL Department of Political Science, School of Public Policy
  • Dr. Roxanna Fellini, UCL Institute of Archaeology
  • Professor David Lagnado, UCL Division of Psychology and Language Sciences
  • Professor Ruth Morgan, UCL Security and Crime Science, Director of the UCL Centre for Forensic Sciences
  • Professor Pascoe Pleasence, UCL Laws, Director of the UCL Centre for Empirical Legal Studies
  • Dr. Sara Razai, UCL Laws, JI Research
  • Terry McGuinness, PhD Candidate, UCL Laws

UCL JI Judicial Training Fellows

  • Mr Godfrey Cole
  • Ms Yvette Genn
  • Mrs Mary Holmes
  • Mrs Mary Kane
  • Mr Stuart Vernon

Visiting fellows

  • Professor Dennis Curtis, Yale University School of Law
  • Dr. Harold Epinuese, World Bank, Counsel for Justice Reform and Deputy Director, Institute des Haute Etudes de Justice
  • Professor Carlo Guarnieri, Department of Political Science, University of Bologna
  • Professor Daniela Piana, Department of Political Science, University of Bologna