IOE - Faculty of Education and Society


IOE staff member awarded for their teaching by UCL students

31 May 2019

UCL Institute of Education (IOE) academic Dr Selena Nemorin has been recognised for working collaboratively with students to improve teaching.

UCL campus Print Room Cafe

Dr Nemorin, who is a Lecturer in Sociology of Digital Technology at the IOE’s Department of Culture, Communication and Media and UCL Knowledge Lab, won the Active Student Partnership award at UCL’s annual Education Awards. The awards celebrate the achievements of staff and students and their contributions to our learning community. 

The award was part of the Student Choice category which is decided by students from nomination through to judging the winners and received 1478 nominations. 

Dr Nemorin was praised for her commitment to teaching: following concerns being raised in one of her taught modules, she ensured that all of her students were included in weekly workshops to help improve the module for future cohorts.

IOE academics Dr Susan Askew and Dr Sandra Leaton Gray were also recognised for their work in the Student Choice awards. They were nominated for Exceptional Feedback and Outstanding Research Supervision respectively.

The ceremony also celebrated Dr Sue Taylor and Professor Norbert Pachler who received Principal Fellowships this year.  

The event was hosted by Rothna Akhtar, Welfare and International Officer, Students' Union UCL and Professor Deborah Gill, Pro-Vice-Provost for Student Experience and Director of UCL Medical School. UCL President and Provost Professor Michael Arthur presented the Student Choice and Provost’s Education Awards.