Office of the President and Provost (Equality, Diversity & Inclusion)


Inclusion Awards FAQs 2024

Frequently asked questions

Who is eligible for a UCL Inclusion Award?

Any UCL member of staff or team/department can be nominated to receive an award. We also have additional categories where students can be nominated. Please refer to the award categories for further details.

There are no restrictions on who can nominate within the UCL community, but they should be able to explain why the individual or team deserves the recognition.

NB. Those who occupy full time paid EDI job roles (such as members of the central EqualityDiversity and Inclusion team) should not be nominated for an inclusion award. The purpose of the awards are to acknowledge EDI institutional citizenship.

What are the categories and criteria for awards?

There are 6 categories for awards available for individuals or teams / departments deemed by the Inclusion Awards panel to be exceptional.   

1.    Provost’s award for Embedding Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (staff only)
This award recognises an individual or team’s effort to embed EDI into mainstream work through their approach and undertaking of tasks, be it day-to-day tasks or larger projects.

2.    Sarah Guise award for Catalyst for Change (open to staff and students)
This award recognises a person or a team doing things differently by incorporating EDI values into the way they work, resulting in a positive shift in UCL culture.

3.    Sir Stephen Wall award: Inspiring Role Model (open to staff and students)
This award recognises a person who has taken the opportunity to engage with members of our community, speaking openly about their personal experiences in a visible forum that encourages and champions diversity and inclusion in a way that our students and staff can relate to. 

4.    Championing Disability Inclusion (staff and students)
This award recognises an individual or team’s effort to champion disability inclusion into mainstream work, delivering a more inclusive experience for Disabled staff and students.

5.   Award for EDI Excellence
This award recognises a UCL department or division (including Professional Services) that has demonstrated the most EDI commitment and impact over the past year 

6.    Intersectional Impact Award (staff only)
This award recognises an individual for their voluntary contribution to a staff equality network, recognising impactful activities and commitment to EDI  

In assessing nominations, the panel will consider nominee’s or team’s career stage(s), role(s) and grade(s).

What is the nomination process?

Any member of the UCL community can make a nomination. This includes staff and students.

How are winners chosen?

Nominations will be considered by the Inclusion Awards judging panel, members of which are drawn from across UCL. When writing a nomination, please remember that the panel can only judge based on the contents of the nomination form, so please do include as much detail as possible on how the nominee (s) meet the criteria for the award.

We recognise that individuals or teams / departments may have been working on EDI issues for a long time, but the assessment period is from the period 2022-23 - 2023-24. This means that when nominating, it is important to highlight and focus on the work and activity that took place during that period. 

What form do the awards take?

A trophy will be presented to the award winners at an evening celebration on 16 July 2024.

Are PhD students eligible for awards?

PhD students can be nominated for a staff award category if they also hold a teaching contract. They can be also be nominated under the student categories.

When will the awards ceremony take place?

The award winners will be announced at an in person ceremony on 16 July 2024, from 5pm onwards. The ceremony will be live streamed for those that cannot attend in person. Details on how to register your attendance will be shared in due course.

Should my team / department / faculty submit individual nominations for the same person, or a collective nomination?

Awards will be made based on the quality of the nomination, not the quantity. 

What does the scoring criteria include?

The panel will choose winners based on some or all of the following criteria:

  • has the nominee undertaken this work during the relevant period
  • is the nominee being recognised for voluntary work undertaken on top of their current role
  • has the individual's contribution led to meaningful change
  • to what extent is the individual a visible role model/ally
  • how inspired will staff and students be by the individual's contributions
  • do the individual's / department's contributions stand out from others
Are self-nominations being accepted?

Self nominations will be accepted, if they are accompanied by a supporting statement from a colleague / student that has been involved in the work outlined within the nomination. Members of the central EDI team cannot provide supporting statements (or nominate individuals).