UCL English


Visiting Fellows

The annual Visiting Fellow gives two lectures in the academic year


Amit Chaudhuri

Novelist, poet, essayist, literary critic, editor, singer and music composer. He is Professsor of Contemporary Literature at the University of East Anglia and an inaugural fellow at the Columbia Institute of Ideas and Imagination in Paris.


Amit Chaudhuri
2017-2018Tessa Hadley
Tessa Hadley
2016-2017Alan Hollinghurst
Alan Hollinghurst
2015 - 2016Tony Edwards 
2015 - 2016

Kate Tempest

Kate Tempest

A S Byatt

  • Booker Prize winning novelist
  • Former member of staff in the English Department

A S Byatt
2012-2013Frances Wilson

Frances Wilson

Tom McCarthy

© The Economist Newspaper Limited 2012. All rights reserved

Tom McCarthy
2009 - 2010Will Self

Will Self
2008 - 2009Geoff Dyer
©Matt Stuart

Geoff Dyer
2007 - 2008Pankaj Mishra

Pankaj Mishra