XClose

UCL Department of Economics

Home
Menu

Research students and teaching assistants

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | JK | L | M | O | P | R | S | T | V | W | X | Z


Brian Amorim Cabaço

blank-profile-picture-


Email: brian.cabaco.17@ucl.ac.uk


Alison Andrew

blank-profile-picture-

Email: alison.andrew.14@ucl.ac.uk


Ruimin Ao

Ruimin Ao

My primary fields of research are health economics and development economics. I am particularly interested in identifying and quantifying the economic causes of health-related problems, link between social economic status and health outcomes. 

Email: ruimin.ao.19@ucl.ac.uk
Website: www.linkedin.com/in/ruimin-ao-41a8b7129/


Karolos Arapkis

blank-profile-picture-


Email: karolos.arapakis.14@ucl.ac.uk


Elena Ashtari Tafti

elena_ashtari


Elena’s research interests lie in the field of microeconomics including theoretical work and empirical applications. Her research focuses on healthcare markets with specific attention on healthcare professionals decision making. She is affiliated with the Institute of Fiscal Studies (IFS) and the Centre for Research & Analysis of Migration (CReAM)

Email: elena.tafti.17@ucl.ac.uk
CV: 


Richard Audoly

blank-profile-picture-


Email: richard.audoly.14@ucl.ac.uk


B

Jihyun Bae

blank-profile-picture-


Email: jihyun.bae.15@ucl.ac.uk


Anna Becker

blank-profile-picture-

Location:    CReAM
Email:         anna.becker.14@ucl.ac.uk

Barbara Boelmann

blank-profile-picture-


Email: barbara.boelmann.14@ucl.ac.uk


Uta Bolt

Uta Bolt


Uta's main research interest is the development of inequalities over the lifecycle and across generations. Her research combines factor models of human capital development with structural dynamic lifecycle models. She is also affiliated with the Institute for Fiscal Studies. 

Email: uta.bolt@ucl.ac.uk


Courtney Brell

blank-profile-picture-


Email: courtney.brell.17@ucl.ac.uk


Max Bricker

blank-profile-picture-


Email: max.bricker.19@ucl.ac.uk


C

Gherardo Caracciolo

blank-profile-picture-


Email: gherardo.caracciolo.15@ucl.ac.uk


Nicolas Cerkez

blank-profile-picture-


Email: nicolas.cerkez.16@ucl.ac.uk


Minsok Chae

blank-profile-picture-


Email: minsok.chae.17@ucl.ac.uk


Lichao Chen

blank-profile-picture-

 
Email: 
lichao.chen.17@ucl.ac.uk


Wenhao Cheng

blank-profile-picture-

Email: wenhao.cheng.17@ucl.ac.uk


Alex Clyde

blank-profile-picture-

Email: alex.clyde.15@ucl.ac.uk


D
 

Riccardo D'Adamo

blank-profile-picture-


Email: riccardo.d'adamo.15@ucl.ac.uk


Nikhil Datta

blank-profile-picture-


Email: nikhil.datta.14@ucl.ac.uk


Stan De Ruijter Van Steveninck

blank-profile-picture-


Email:  stan.deruijter.15@ucl.ac.uk


Michelle Disser

blank-profile-picture-


Her main research interests are in Applied Microeconomics, in particular Labour Economics, and Applied Microeconometrics. Michelle is also affiliated with the Centre for Research and Analysis of Migration (CReAM).

Email: m.disser@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @MichelleDisser 

 

 

 

Mimosa Distefano 

Mimosa Distefano
 
Mimosa's main fields of interest are in labour economics and public economics. She is also affiliated with the Centre for Research Analysis of Migration (CReAM). 
 
Room: G01-4, Drayton House

Madigan Dockrill

blank-profile-picture-
Room: G01-4, Drayton House

E


Cristian Espinosa Diaz

blank-profile-picture-


Email: cristian.espinosa@ucl.ac.uk


Andrew Eyles

blank-profile-picture-

Email: andrew.eyles.14@ucl.ac.uk


F

Giuseppe Forte 

blank-profile-picture-


Giuseppe (2020-2024) has research interests in industrial organisation and applied microeconometrics.

Email: giuseppe.forte.19@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @gfrt0
Website: https://gfrt0.github.io/


Hugo Freeman

blank-profile-picture-


Email: hugo.freeman.16@ucl.ac.uk


G

Carl Gergs

Carl Gergs

 

Carl's main interests are in labour economics, public economics and policy evaluation. He is also affiliated with the Centre for Research and Analysis of Migration (CReAM). 

Twitter: @c_gergs
Email: carl.gergs.17@ucl.ac.uk


Michele Giannola

michele_giannola


Michele is an applied microeconomist working primarily in the fields of labour, development, and the economics of education. His research focuses on the process of human capital formation in the early childhood years, with special attention to the role that families, institutions and early interventions play in this process. He is also affiliated to the University of Naples Federico II and  the Centre for Studies in Economics and Finance (CSEF).

Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: michele.giannola.12@ucl.ac.uk
Website: sites.google.com/view/michele-giannola
Twitter: @GiannolaMichele


David Goll

blank-profile-picture-

Room: G01-4, Drayton House

Anusha Guha

blank-profile-picture-


Email: anusha.guha.16@ucl.ac.uk


H

Nathan Hancart

blank-profile-picture-


Nathan is interested in microeconomic theory and behavioural economics.

Email: nathan.hancart.16@ucl.ac.uk
Website: nathanhancart.wordpress.com


Jamie Hentall Maccuish

blank-profile-picture-


Email: jamie.maccuish.15@ucl.ac.uk


I


Lorenzo Incoronato

blank-profile-picture-


Email: lorenzo.incoronato.18@ucl.ac.uk


Zanna Iscenko

blank-profile-picture-


Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: zanna.iscenko.14@ucl.ac.uk
Website: http://ziscenko.net


J

Wenchao Jin

Jin_Wenchao


Wenchao is a labour economist. Her research interests include classic topics such as labour supply and wage inequality, and public polices on education and welfare. She is affiliated with the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS).

Email: w.jin.11@ucl.ac.uk
Profile page: 
ifs.org.uk/people/profile/491


K


Huilei Kang

blank-profile-picture-


Email: huilei.kang.19@ucl.ac.uk


Yongsoo Kim

blank-profile-picture-


Email: yongsoo.kim.18@ucl.ac.uk


Yannis Kastis

Yannis Kastis


My fields of interest are labour economics, applied microeconomics and economics of migration. My research focuses on the phenomenon of immigration and more specifically on its impact on local labour markets and the labour market outcomes of natives in the host country. I am affiliated with CReAM. 


Email: yannis.kastis.17@ucl.ac.uk
Website: 
cream-migration.org/personneldetail.php?id=302
CV:


L

Thomas Lazarowicz

blank-profile-picture-


Email: thomas.lazarowicz.16@ucl.ac.uk


Howon Lee

blank-profile-picture-


Email: howon.lee.16@ucl.ac.uk


Jiangnan Liao

Jiangnan Liao

 

My research interests are in Labour Economics, in particular topics on gender, migration, and inequality.

Email: jiangnan.liao.16@ucl.ac.uk


M
 

Justinas Markauskas

Justinas Markauskas


My research interests lie in macroeconomics and monetary policy with a focus on sticky price models. In particular, I am investigating heterogeneity of price rigidity at a firm-level and its implications for monetary policy.

Email: justinas.markauskas.09@ucl.ac.uk
Linkedin: 
linkedin.com/in/justinas-markauskas-65068120


Didac Marti Pinto

blank-profile-picture-


Email: didac.marti.pinto.19@ucl.ac.uk


Enrico Miglino

blank-profile-picture-


Enrico's research focuses on public economics, urban economics, search and matching theory and applied structural microeconometrics. He also received a scholarship from the Fondazione Luigi Einaudi.

Email: enrico.miglino.16@ucl.ac.uk
Website: 
sites.google.com/view/enricomiglino


O
 

Ivan Olszak

Ivan Olszak

 

Ivan's research focuses on empirical industrial organisation (IO) and education. He is also a PhD scholar at cemmap (IFS) and Director of Econometrics at the UK Competition and Markets Autority (CMA)

Email: i.olszak@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @IvanOlszak
Linkedin: linkedin.com/in/ivan-olszak-36192b15


Julen Ortiz de Zarate Pina

blank-profile-picture-


Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: julen.pina.14@ucl.ac.uk



P
 

Filippo Pallotti

blank-profile-picture-


Email: filippo.pallotti@ucl.ac.uk


Oscar Perello Perez

blank-profile-picture-


Email: oscar.perello.19@ucl.ac.uk


Jon Piqueras San Cristobal 

blank-profile-picture-


Email: jon.piqueras.17@ucl.ac.uk


Andrew Preston 

Andrew Preston


My research interests lie in the fields of macroeconomics and macro-finance with a focus on the incorporation of heterogeneity.  Specifically I am interested in the role of job losses in explaining both macroeconomic fluctuations and asset prices. 


Email: a.preston.17@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @andypreston_UK
Website: sites.google.com/view/andrew-preston


R
 

Alexander Ralphs

blank-profile-picture-


Email: alexander.ralphs.17@ucl.ac.uk


Matthew Read

blank-profile-picture-


Email: matthew.read@ucl.ac.uk


Morgane Richard

blank-profile-picture-


Email: morgane.richard.16@ucl.ac.uk


S

Silvia Sarpietro

blank-profile-picture-


Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: silvia.sarpietro.14@ucl.ac.uk


Fernanda Senra de Moura

blank-profile-picture-


Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: fernanda.moura.13@ucl.ac.uk


Andrea Smurra

blank-profile-picture-


Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: a.smurra.11@ucl.ac.uk


Kate Smith

Kate Smith

Kate is an Associate Director at the Institute for Fiscal Studies. Her research interests are in public finance and applied microeconomics, with particular focus on questions relating to the design of an effective tax system. Kate's recent work studies the taxation of business owners, and optimal alcohol and soft drink taxes.


Location: The Institute for Fiscal Studies, 7 Ridgmount Street, WC1E 7AE
Email: kate_s@ifs.org.uk
Website: https://katesmith.me/


George Stoye 

blank-profile-picture-


Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: g.stoye@ucl.ac.uk


Peter Spittal

blank-profile-picture-


Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: peter.spittal.14@ucl.ac.uk
IRIS profile: Peter Spittal


David Sturrock

David Sturrock


My current research is based in the microeconomic analysis of household wealth-holding behaviour. My ongoing projects examine the determinants and effects of intergenerational wealth transfers in the UK and the Netherlands, with a focus on the intergenerational transmission of inequality and the role of housing wealth. I am a Senior Research Economist at the IFS.

Website: sites.google.com/site/davidjsturrock/home
Email: david.sturrock.17@ucl.ac.uk


T


Rachel Yi Tan

blank-profile-picture-


Email: rachel.tan.20@ucl.ac.uk


Alessandro Toppeta

blank-profile-picture-


Email: alessandro.toppeta.15@ucl.ac.uk


Andres Trejos Medina

blank-profile-picture-


Email: andres.trejos.16@ucl.ac.uk


V
 

Laura Van Der Erve

Laura Van Der Erve


Laura is a Senior Research Economist in the Education and Skills sector at the Institute for Fiscal Studies, and a part-time PhD student at UCL. Her research examines the causes of inequalities within and between generations, with a particular focus on the role of education. Current projects look at the drivers of geographical variation in intergenerational mobility, the role schools and universities can play in increasing social mobility, and the impact of labour market shocks on children’s long-run outcomes. Past work has looked at the returns to different types of education and the design of the higher education system.

Website: www.ifs.org.uk/people/profile/3766
Linkedin: uk.linkedin.com/in/laura-van-der-erve-61a335202
Email: l.erve@ucl.ac.uk


Clara Von Bismarck-Osten

Clara Von Bismarck-Osten


Clara is currently pursuing the Master of Research at the Department of Economics, for which she earned a co-funded scholarship by the Center for Research and Analysis of Migration and the Institute for Fiscal Studies. Her current research is devoted to the impact of maternity leave on mothers’ labour supply and children’s outcomes. She received her MSc in Economics from UCL in 2020 after a year of work experience as a Research Associate at the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL). She also holds a BA in Economics from the University of Mannheim, where she simultaneously worked for the Center for Evaluation and Development (C4ED).

Email: clara.bismarck-osten.19@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @claravobi
Website: 
cream-migration.org/personneldetail.php?id=313

 

 

 

Guglielmo Ventura

blank-profile-picture-


Email: guglielmo.ventura.17@ucl.ac.uk


Anna Vitali

Anna Vitali


I study firms and labour markets in developing countries. My research interests lie at the intersection of development, labor economics and industrial organization

Email: anna.vitali.16@ucl.ac.uk
Website: 
annavitali.com


W
 

Guanyi Wang

Guanyi Wang


Guanyi's research focuses on statistical treatment allocation, statistical learning theory and general econometrics.

Email: guanyi.wang.17@ucl.ac.uk
Website: https://sites.google.com/view/gywang/


Linda Wu

blank-profile-picture-


Email: linda.wu.19@ucl.ac.uk


X
 

Dajana Xhani

blank-profile-picture-


Email: dajana.xhani.11@ucl.ac.uk


Yiming Xia

blank-profile-picture-


Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: yiming.xia.13@ucl.ac.uk
IRIS profile: Yiming Xia


Z

 

Yimeng Zhang

blank-profile-picture-


Email: yimeng.zhang.12@ucl.ac.uk