XClose

UCL Department of Economics

Home
Menu

Research students and teaching assistants

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | JK | L | M | O | P | R | S | T | V | W | X | Z



blank-profile-picture-

Brian Amorim Cabaço

Email: brian.cabaco.17@ucl.ac.uk


Ruimin Ao

Ruimin Ao

My primary fields of research are health economics and development economics. I am particularly interested in identifying and quantifying the economic causes of health-related problems, link between social economic status and health outcomes.

Email: ruimin.ao.19@ucl.ac.uk
Website: sites.google.com/view/ruiminao

 

 

 


elena_ashtari

Elena Ashtari Tafti

Elena’s research interests lie in the field of microeconomics including theoretical work and empirical applications. Her research focuses on healthcare markets with specific attention on healthcare professionals decision making. She is affiliated with the Institute of Fiscal Studies (IFS) and the Centre for Research & Analysis of Migration (CReAM)

Email: elena.tafti.17@ucl.ac.uk
CV: 


blank-profile-picture-

Richard Audoly

Email: richard.audoly.14@ucl.ac.uk


B


blank-profile-picture-

Jihyun Bae

Email: jihyun.bae.15@ucl.ac.uk


Anna Becker

Anna Becker

Location:    CReAM
Email:         anna.becker.14@ucl.ac.uk

blank-profile-picture-

Barbara Boelmann

Email: barbara.boelmann.14@ucl.ac.uk


 

blank-profile-picture-

Courtney Brell

Email: courtney.brell.17@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Max Bricker

Email: max.bricker.19@ucl.ac.uk


C


blank-profile-picture-

Nicolas Cerkez

Nick's interests are in development economics, political economy, and environmental economics.

Email: nicolas.cerkez.16@ucl.ac.uk
Website: nicolascerkez.com


blank-profile-picture-

Minsok Chae

Email: minsok.chae.17@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Lichao Chen

Email: lichao.chen.17@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Wenhao Cheng

Email: wenhao.cheng.17@ucl.ac.uk


Alexander Clyde

Alex Clyde

Email: alex.clyde.15@ucl.ac.uk


D
 


Riccardo_D'Adamo

Riccardo D'Adamo

Email: riccardo.d'adamo.15@ucl.ac.uk
Website: sites.google.com/view/riccardodadamo 


blank-profile-picture-

Stan De Ruijter Van Steveninck

Email:  stan.deruijter.15@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Michelle Disser

Her main research interests are in Applied Microeconomics, in particular Labour Economics, and Applied Microeconometrics. Michelle is also affiliated with the Centre for Research and Analysis of Migration (CReAM).

Email: m.disser@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @MichelleDisser 

 


Madigan Dockrill

Madigan Dockrill

Room: G01-4, Drayton House

E


blank-profile-picture-

Cristian Espinosa Diaz

Email: cristian.espinosa@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Andrew Eyles

Email: andrew.eyles.14@ucl.ac.uk


F 


blank-profile-picture-

Giuseppe Forte

Giuseppe (2020-2024) has research interests in industrial organisation and applied microeconometrics.

Email: giuseppe.forte.19@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @gfrt0
Website: https://gfrt0.github.io/


blank-profile-picture-

Hugo Freeman

Hugo's research interests are in Panel data econometrics.

Email: hugo.freeman.16@ucl.ac.uk
Website: sites.google.com/view/hugofreeman


G


Carl Gergs

Carl Gergs

Carl's main interests are in labour economics, public economics and policy evaluation. He is also affiliated with the Centre for Research and Analysis of Migration (CReAM). 

Twitter: @c_gergs
Email: carl.gergs.17@ucl.ac.uk


michele_giannola

Michele Giannola

Michele is an applied microeconomist working primarily in the fields of labour, development, and the economics of education. His research focuses on the process of human capital formation in the early childhood years, with special attention to the role that families, institutions and early interventions play in this process. He is also affiliated to the University of Naples Federico II and  the Centre for Studies in Economics and Finance (CSEF).

Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: michele.giannola.12@ucl.ac.uk
Website: sites.google.com/view/michele-giannola
Twitter: @GiannolaMichele


blank-profile-picture-

David Goll

Room: G01-4, Drayton House

blank-profile-picture-

Anusha Guha

Email: anusha.guha.16@ucl.ac.uk


H


blank-profile-picture-

Jamie Hentall Maccuish

Email: jamie.maccuish.15@ucl.ac.uk


I


Llorenzo Incoronato

Lorenzo Incoronato

Email: lorenzo.incoronato.18@ucl.ac.uk
CV: 


blank-profile-picture-

Zanna Iscenko

Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: zanna.iscenko.14@ucl.ac.uk
Website: http://ziscenko.net


J


Wenchao Jin

Wenchao Jin

Wenchao is a labour economist. Her research interests include classic topics such as labour supply and wage inequality, and public polices on education and welfare. She is affiliated with the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS).

Email: w.jin.11@ucl.ac.uk
Profile page: 
ifs.org.uk/people/profile/491


K


blank-profile-picture-

Huilei Kang

Email: huilei.kang.19@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Yongsoo Kim

Email: yongsoo.kim.18@ucl.ac.uk


Yannis Kastis

Yannis Kastis

My fields of interest are labour economics, applied microeconomics and economics of migration. My research focuses on the phenomenon of immigration and more specifically on its impact on local labour markets and the labour market outcomes of natives in the host country. I am affiliated with CReAM.

Email: yannis.kastis.17@ucl.ac.uk
Website: 
cream-migration.org/personneldetail.php?id=302
CV:


L


blank-profile-picture-

Thomas Lazarowicz

Email: thomas.lazarowicz.16@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Howon Lee

Email: howon.lee.16@ucl.ac.uk


Jiangnan Liao

Jiangnan Liao

My research interests are in Labour Economics, in particular topics on gender, migration, and inequality.

Email: jiangnan.liao.16@ucl.ac.uk


M


Justinas Markauskas

Justinas Markauskas

My research interests lie in macroeconomics and monetary policy with a focus on sticky price models. In particular, I am investigating heterogeneity of price rigidity at a firm-level and its implications for monetary policy.

Email: justinas.markauskas.09@ucl.ac.uk
Linkedin: 
linkedin.com/in/justinas-markauskas-65068120


blank-profile-picture-

Didac Marti Pinto

Email: didac.marti.pinto.19@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Enrico Miglino

Enrico's research focuses on public economics, urban economics, search and matching theory and applied structural microeconometrics. He also received a scholarship from the Fondazione Luigi Einaudi.

Email: enrico.miglino.16@ucl.ac.uk
Website: 
sites.google.com/view/enricomiglino


O


Ivan Olszak

Ivan Olszak

Ivan's research focuses on empirical industrial organisation (IO) and education. He is also a PhD scholar at cemmap (IFS) andDirector of Economics at the UK Competition and Markets Autority (CMA)

Email: i.olszak@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @IvanOlszak
Linkedin: linkedin.com/in/ivan-olszak-36192b15


Julen Zarate Pina

Julen Ortiz de Zarate Pina

Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: julen.pina.14@ucl.ac.uk



P


  

Filippo Pallotti

Filippo Pallotti

Email: filippo.pallotti@ucl.ac.uk


oscar_perello_Headshot

Oscar Perello Perez

Oscar's research covers topics in international trade and economic development with a focus on production networks. His ongoing projects analyse trade intermediation in buyer-seller networks, the dynamics of global supply chains, and the role of imperfect competition in international trade.

Email: oscar.perello.19@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @oiperello
Website: sites.google.com/view/oscarperellop


 

Andrew Preston

Andrew Preston 

My research interests lie in the fields of macroeconomics and macro-finance with a focus on the incorporation of heterogeneity.  Specifically I am interested in the role of job losses in explaining both macroeconomic fluctuations and asset prices. 

Email: a.preston.17@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @andypreston_UK
Website: sites.google.com/view/andrew-preston


R


blank-profile-picture-

Alexander Ralphs

Email: alexander.ralphs.17@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Matthew Read

Email: matthew.read@ucl.ac.uk


Morgane Richard

Morgane Richard

Email: morgane.richard.16@ucl.ac.uk


S


blank-profile-picture-

Silvia Sarpietro

Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: silvia.sarpietro.14@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Fernanda Senra de Moura

Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: fernanda.moura.13@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Andrea Smurra

Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: a.smurra.11@ucl.ac.uk


Kate Smith

Kate Smith

Kate is an Associate Director at the Institute for Fiscal Studies. Her research interests are in public finance and applied microeconomics, with particular focus on questions relating to the design of an effective tax system. Kate's recent work studies the taxation of business owners, and optimal alcohol and soft drink taxes.

Location: The Institute for Fiscal Studies, 7 Ridgmount Street, WC1E 7AE
Email: kate_s@ifs.org.uk
Website: https://katesmith.me/


blank-profile-picture-

George Stoye 

Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: g.stoye@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Peter Spittal

Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: peter.spittal.14@ucl.ac.uk
IRIS profile: Peter Spittal


David Sturrock

David Sturrock

My current research is based in the microeconomic analysis of household wealth-holding behaviour. My ongoing projects examine the determinants and effects of intergenerational wealth transfers in the UK and the Netherlands, with a focus on the intergenerational transmission of inequality and the role of housing wealth. I am a Senior Research Economist at the IFS.

Website: sites.google.com/site/davidjsturrock/home
Email: david.sturrock.17@ucl.ac.uk


T


Rachel Yi Tan

Rachel Yi Tan

Email: rachel.tan.20@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Alessandro Toppeta

Email: alessandro.toppeta.15@ucl.ac.uk


blank-profile-picture-

Andres Trejos Medina

Email: andres.trejos.16@ucl.ac.uk


V


Laura Van Der Erve

Laura Van Der Erve

Laura is a Senior Research Economist in the Education and Skills sector at the Institute for Fiscal Studies, and a part-time PhD student at UCL. Her research examines the causes of inequalities within and between generations, with a particular focus on the role of education. Current projects look at the drivers of geographical variation in intergenerational mobility, the role schools and universities can play in increasing social mobility, and the impact of labour market shocks on children’s long-run outcomes. Past work has looked at the returns to different types of education and the design of the higher education system.

Website: www.ifs.org.uk/people/profile/3766
Linkedin: uk.linkedin.com/in/laura-van-der-erve-61a335202
Email: l.erve@ucl.ac.uk


Clara Von Bismarck-Osten

Clara Von Bismarck-Osten

Clara is currently pursuing a Masters of Research at UCL's Department of Economics, for which she earned a co-funded scholarship by the Center for Research and Analysis of Migration and the Institute for Fiscal Studies. Her current research is devoted to the impact of maternity leave on mothers’ labour supply and children’s outcomes. She received her MSc in Economics from UCL in 2020 after a year of work experience as a Research Associate at the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL). She also holds a BA in Economics from the University of Mannheim, where she simultaneously worked for the Center for Evaluation and Development (C4ED).

Email: clara.bismarck-osten.19@ucl.ac.uk
Twitter: @claravobi
Website: 
cream-migration.org/personneldetail.php?id=313

 

 


blank-profile-picture-

Guglielmo Ventura

Email: guglielmo.ventura.17@ucl.ac.uk


Anna Vitali

Anna Vitali

I study firms and labour markets in developing countries. My research interests lie at the intersection of development, labor economics and industrial organization.
Email: anna.vitali.16@ucl.ac.uk
Website: 
annavitali.com


W


Linda Wu

Linda Audrey Wu

Linda's main interests are in labour economics and public economics.
Email: linda.wu.19@ucl.ac.uk


X

 

blank-profile-picture-

Yiming Xia

Room: G01-4, Drayton House
Email: yiming.xia.13@ucl.ac.uk
IRIS profile: Yiming Xia


Z


blank-profile-picture-

Yimeng Zhang

Email: yimeng.zhang.12@ucl.ac.uk