Eastman Dental Institute


UCL Eastman research team scoop group award from IADR

24 March 2017


Congratulations to Dr Jacob Pattem and colleagues* who have won the 2017 IADR Cariology Research Group Science Award.

The award recognises the original findings of their recent study “A nano-mechanical approach to developing structure-property relationships in oral plaque biofilms” 

Institute Director, Professor Stephen Porter, said: “It is with great pleasure that I congratulate Jacob and the team on the receipt of this award.

“The level of scholarly and scientific achievement of the research groups who win this award is truly exceptional and they can therefore consider this a terrific accomplishment.”

The Cariology Research Group Science Award consists of a certificate and $500 and was presented at this week's Cariology Research Group business meeting during IADR General Session. 

*The team comprised Dr Pattem, Mehmet Davrandi (Phd student), Sebastian Aguayo (PhD student), Dr Laurent Bozec (Senior Lecturer), Professor Dave Spratt (Director of Education) and Dr Elaine Allan (Senior Lecturer).