UCL Computer Science


EDI Committee

UCL Computer Science aims to foster a positive cultural climate that allows all staff and students to flourish, contribute to the life and culture of the department and reach their full potential.

The Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee will promote the value of different identities to create an organisational culture that is respectful and inclusive irrespective of age, disability, gender, marriage/civil partnership, pregnancy, maternity/paternity, parental/adoption and caring, race, religion/belief, sex, or sexual orientation. Specifically, the Committee will: 

  1. Develop a long-term EDI strategy, identify and propose long, medium and short-term priorities, and draw up an action plan of with clear objectives and targets. 

  1. Encourage colleagues and students across the department to contribute to the development of the strategy and action plan. 

  1. Work closely with subcommittees, e.g., Athena Swan, to implement actions addressing areas they have identified as priorities.  

  1. Seek regular feedback from those responsible for implementation. Review and report on progress against targets and monitor data regularly throughout the year. 

  1. Publish minutes, updates, and other non-confidential documents to ensure openness and transparency. 

Computer Science EDI Committee Members

  • EDI Chair: Marc Deisenroth

  • EDI Co-Chair: Karin Alderson

  • Head of Department: Stephen Hailes

  • Academic Staff members: Francesca Biondo, James Cole, Carlo Ciliberto, Benjamin Guedj, Dean Mohamedally, and Engin Zeynep 

  • Professional services members: Ashley Bedeau, Kiran Ahmed, Sarah Bentley, Aeesha Bhaiyat, and  David Howells

  • Research Staff member: Vijay Pawar

  • Undergradate student: Raquel Silva

  • PHD students: Maryam Bandukda, Mar Estarellas Garcia, Jitesh Joshi, and Julia Manning.

  • Secretary: Mala Leicester

  • Staffing Senior Manager: Victoria Cooper

  • Chair of the Athena Swan Committee: Ifat Yasin

  • Inclusion Leads and Wellbeing Champions: Sarah Bentley, Colin Malley, Bernadette Murray, Silpa Shah