Founders Award 2016

15 March 2016

Many congratulations to Dr Alex O'Malley has been awarded the "Founders Award" of the British Zeolite Association (BZA) for his work on neutron scattering and computer modelling studies of hydrocarbons in zeolites.  

The Founders' Award is an annual award for UK based postgraduate student working in the area of micro or mesoporous science. It aims to celebrate the best/most promising postgraduate scientist of the year. The Award will be presented each year at the BZA Annual Meeting and has been devised in honour of the late Professor Lovat Rees, one of the founding members of the British Zeolite Association and one of the father figures of British zeolite science.

Alex said "I'm delighted to receive this award and feel I've been very privileged with access to such excellent facilities and techniques in studying such interesting and important systems. I'm very grateful to my supervisors and colleagues at the Catalysis Hub, the ISIS neutron source and elsewhere. Hopefully this does them justice and the work we've accomplished so far is only the beginning!"

I am sure you will join us in congratulation Alex on his award - well done!