Queen Square Centre for Neuromuscular Diseases


Meet the team

The muscle service includes: 

Prof. Michael HannaConsultant Neurologist 
Dr. Matt PartonConsultant Neurologist  
Dr. Chris TurnerConsultant Neurologist 
Dr. Ros QuinlivanConsultant Neurologist  
Dr Dipa JayaseelanConsultant Neurologist  
Dr. Jasper MorrowConsultant Neurologist  
Dr. Aisling CarrConsultant Neurologist  
Dr. Pedro MachadoConsultant in Rheumatology and Muscle diseases
Dr. Enrico BugiardiniConsultant Neurologist
Sarah HolmesPhysiotherapist (channelopathies and mitochondrial diseases) 
Natalie JamesClinical Nurse Specialist (channelopathies and mitochondrial diseases) 
Susan MacDonaldClinical Nurse Specialist (myotonic dystrophy, inflammatory muscle disease, immune-suppresion monitoring) 
Maria PatasinClinical Nurse Specialist (glycogen storage disorders)

Other services

We provide a national, government funded referral service (NCG scheme) for patients with:

  • Mitochondrial disease (Prof. Hanna)
  • Muscle channelopathies (Prof. Hanna)
  • McArdle disease (Dr. Quinlivan)

Specialist clinics

We provide specialist clinics for patients with:

  • Myotonic Dystrophy (Dr. Turner)
  • Inclusion Body Myositis (Dr. Parton and Dr. Machado) 
  • Facioscapulohumeral muscular dystrophy (Dr. Bugiardini)
  • Joint complex inflammatory muscle disease clinic (Prof. Hanna - Neurology, Prof. Schapira (Neurology) and Prof. Isenberg (Rheumatology)
  • Adolescent transition joint muscle clinic with Prof. Muntoni (IoCH) and Dr. Quinlivan (NHNN) 

We also work closely with Doctors Lachmann and Murphy in our Neurometabolic Medicine Unit.