Centre for Doctoral Training in Russian, Slavonic & East European languages and culture


Studentship regulations for CDT award holders

Annual training requirements

CEELBAS studentship holders are expected to undertake:

  • At least 2 examples of training in generic research skills each year
  • At least 2 examples of training in professional / career-development skills each year
  • At least 4 examples of subject-specific training activities each year
  • At least 2 public engagement or knowledge exchange activities or internship projects over the course of the studentship

In addition to the CEELBAS Doctoral Training Programme, studentship holders should take advantage of training opportunities available at their home universities and through other doctoral training partnerships and consortia:

  • AHRC Centres for Doctoral Training and ESRC Doctoral Training Centres:

Related Doctoral Training Programmes and Consortia

AHRC logo

London Arts & Humanities Partnership

Cambridge Doctoral Training Partnership

North West Consortium

Oxford Doctoral Training Partnership

ESRC logo

UCL Doctoral Training Centre

Cambridge Doctoral Training Centre

North West Doctoral Training Centre

Oxford Doctoral Training Centre

Annual reports

All studentship holders have to submit an Annual Report to CEELBAS providing an update on research training and professional development, as well as giving details of any research outputs, collaboration, knowledge exchange or co-funding. The Annual Report is also used to identify new training needs for the year ahead.

Student progress and submission deadlines

For studentship fees and stipends to be paid, CEELBAS award holders must be fully-enrolled at their home university.

All studentships are reconfirmed annually, but please note that this is subject to satisfactory progress by the award holder.

To achieve satisfactory progress, CEELBAS normally requires studentship holders to satisfy requirements for the transfer to PhD/D.Phil. registration before the end of the first year of their studies (or the second year for a part-time student) - i.e. a full-time student starting in October 2014 is required to have satisfied requirements for the transfer by the end of September 2015.

Students who fail to complete the transfer to PhD/D.Phil. status within this timeframe will normally be deemed no longer eligible for a CEELBAS studentship.

AHRC funding guidelines state that 'on accepting a studentship to pursue a programme of doctoral research a student also accepts a commitment to make every effort to complete their project, and to submit their thesis, if possible by the end of the period of funding'. The progress and outcome of CEELBAS studentships are closely monitored by the AHRC, which is accountable for the public funds it manages and distributes. In line with these requirements, CEELBAS expects its studentship holders to submit their theses within one year of the end of their studentship (or within two years if they are studying part-time).