Centre for Doctoral Training in Russian, Slavonic & East European languages and culture



The editors of this guide are Andy Willimott, Samantha Sherry and Jonathan Waterlow.

The conference from which this guide arose was funded by the AHRC's Beyond Text Programme Student-Led Initiatives scheme (award ID: AH/I500081/1). Each year the AHRC provides funding from the Government to support research and postgraduate study in the arts and humanities. Only applications of the highest quality are funded and the range of research supported by this investment of public funds not only provides social and cultural benefits but also contributes to the economic success of the UK. For further information on the AHRC, please go to: www.ahrc.ac.uk.

The editors also gratefully acknowledge the financial contribution of the British Association for Slavonic and East European Studies towards the conference and the printing of this guide. For more information on BASEES and its activities, see www.basees.org.uk.

Contributors: Gesine Argent, University of Bristol; Rosie Bainbridge, Trinity College, University of Cambridge; Clare Griffin, University of Cambridge; JJ Gurga, School of Slavonic and East European Studies, UCL; Simon Huxtable, Loughborough University; Alessandro Iandolo, London School of Economics; Kristy Ironside, University of Chicago; Jared McBride, UCLA; Simon Pawley, School of Slavonic and East European Studies, UCL; Samantha Sherry, University College, University of Oxford; Gleb Tsipursky, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Copyright © Samantha Sherry, Jonathan Waterlow, and Andy Willimott, 2010-2013. The right of Samantha Sherry, Jonathan Waterlow, and Andy Willimott to be identified as the authors of this work has been asserted in accordance with Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988. The editors are happy for sections to be reproduced for students, provided full acknowledgment is given.