XClose

UCL Department of Biochemical Engineering

Home
Menu

Research and facilities

Professional services research and facilities team (RAFT), workshop and ISD contact details


The Research and Facilities Team fulfil 6 major functions:

Research Facilitation

RAFT has a wealth of research experience, with expertise in fermentation, downstream processing, stem cell culture, chemistry and microfluidics. RAFT advise on research & provide supervision for projects. Members of RAFT publish papers in academic journals & one of the team has written a book.

Teaching

RAFT design, manage and run a variety of courses covering research areas as diverse as fermentation, downstream processing, stem cell culture and microfluidics within the department and externally e.g. international courses and technical forums. RAFT also provide support for teaching activities such as practicals, design projects, MBI courses, and outreach events.

Safety

RAFT facilitate safe working in the department by providing safety training and inductions, organising regular lab inspections, administering Safety Committee meetings, managing risk assessments, updating safety policy, and ensuring the department is compliant with legal requirements and UCL safety regulations.

Facilities management

Management of the facilities & laboratories of BK building (including the ACBE) to ensure continuing functionality in the short term & implementing strategies to ensure the facilities remain relevant & functional in the future.

Equipment Management

Management of the department’s vast array of research equipment: Managing & performing maintenance to ensure equipment is kept in working order, providing training on equipment. Providing technical support to facilitate equipment usage for research & teaching.

Procurement

Providing training and support for MyFinance. Management of Stores:  Provision of consumables & PPE for experimental work, management of deliveries and liaising with sales representatives and couriers.

NameRole and responsibilities

Elaine Briggs

Laboratory Supply Manager

020 7679 9603
e.briggs@ucl.ac.uk

  • Procurement
  • Supplies management

Joanne Brotherton

Laboratory Assistant

020 3987 2183
joanne.brotherton@ucl.ac.uk

  • Technical 
  • Supervision

Gareth Mannall

Technical Manager

020 7679 7101
g.mannall@ucl.ac.uk

  • Manages facilities of the ACBE (Levels 1-3 Bernard Katz Building)
  • Manages estates projects to develop & maintain ACBE facilities
  • Facilitates pilot plant research
  • Coordinates teaching activities in the Pilot Plant facilities (including role as course coordinator for modules BENG0056 & BENG0057)

Brian O’Sullivan

Microscale Bioprocessing Manager

020 7679 3246
b.o'sullivan@ucl.ac.uk

  • Technical support for all microfluidics researchers
  • Manages the Department’s automation facilities including six TECAN liquid-handling platforms
  • Departmental safety officer
  • Advanced Centre for Biochemical Engineering building projects manager

Ludmila Ruban

Cell Therapy Research Facilitator and Training Co-ordinator

020 7679 9571
l.ruban@ucl.ac.uk

  • Cell therapy research facilitation
  • Training co-ordination

Sarah Slack

Upstream Bioprocessing Facilities and Training Manager

020 3987 2184 
sarah.slack.15@ucl.ac.uk

  • Responsible for the overall management of upstream bioprocessing facilities and the equipment to support research, teaching and knowledge exchange activities

Dhushy Stanislaus

Centre for Micro Biochemical Engineering Building Manager

020 7679 9570
t.stanislaus@ucl.ac.uk

  • Manages the Bernard Katz Building (Level 4-7)
  • Manages the Centre for Micro Biochemical Engineering including the Automation, Synthetic Biology and Chromatography facilities

Lourdes Velez

Research Facility Contracts Manager

020 7679 7007
lourdes.velez@ucl.ac.uk

  • Facilitates the use of Advanced Centre for Biochemical Engineering facilities for external/contract work

For Departmental IT enquiries please email the team at

When contacting the IT team with any issue, please give as much information as possible including the location of equipment and Service Tag or Serial Number and if applicable Network Name marked on the front of all networked PC’s


Workshop

The workshop provides an in-house design and fabrication service for the Departments of Biochemical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, and Physics. Research projects will often require bespoke devices to be built. The workshop technicians work with staff and students to create 3D design drawings for approval and then to use a wide range of CNC machine tools to turn their abstract ideas into fully functioning prototypes.

Name

Role and responsibilities

Martin Blackman

020 3987 2179

m.blackman@ucl.ac.uk

Deputy Workshop Manager

Simon Dawes

020 3987 2181

s.dawes@ucl.ac.uk

  • Workshop Technician

Erich Herrmann

020 7679 3791

e.herrmann@ucl.ac.uk

  • Mechanical Workshop Manager

Dren Maliqi

020 3108 6722

d.maliqi@ucl.ac.uk

  • Workshop Technician

Adam Maney

020 3987 2182

a.maney@ucl.ac.uk

  • Workshop Technician