The Bartlett School of Architecture


Honorary and visiting academics

Photos, from left to right, top to bottom, of Joseph Mias, Amanda Levete, Elizabeth Dill, Andy Bow, Jeremy Melvin

Through the year, talks by internationally-renowned visiting speakers, academics, associates and affiliates give students and staff the chance to deepen their knowledge and understanding of architecture.

UCL also occasionally awards visiting professorships, honorary professorships and honorary degrees to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to The Bartlett and the wider built environment community. Current holders of these include Maxwell Hutchinson, Itsuko Hasegawa, Mark Whitby and Sir Nicholas Grimshaw.


  • Andy Bow
  • Thea Brezank
  • Dr Graham Cairns
  • Elizabeth Diller
  • John Fraser
  • Sir Nicholas Grimshaw
  • Itsuko Hasegawa
  • Maxwell Hutchinson
  • Anne Kershen
  • Perry Kulper
  • Amanda Levete
  • Jeremy Melvin
  • Professor Josep Mias
  • Mark Whitby


  • Robert Aish
  • Simon Allford
  • Salvador Arroyo
  • Dr Lilian Chee
  • Brian Clarke
  • Francis Duffy
  • Paul Finch OBE
  • Maximo Martinez
  • Lord Norman Foster
  • Frank Lowe
  • Paul Monaghan
  • Emmanule Petite
  • Lord Richard Rogers
  • Bill Watts