The Bartlett School of Architecture


Architecture School Staff Nominated for UCL Education Awards

20 April 2021

This year’s UCL Education Awards sees 36 members of staff from The Bartlett School of Architecture recognised for outstanding work.

Work in progress from Architecture BSc (ARB/RIBA Part 1) Unit 2

The annual UCL Education Awards celebrate the excellence and commitment of UCL’s teaching and support staff. The awards are divided into the Student Choice Awards and the UCL Provost Education Awards.

Student Choice Awards

UCL Students’ Union organises the Student Choice Awards, which give students a platform to nominate staff who have positively impacted their academic journey. Staff are nominated across eight categories, which include research supervision, personal tutoring and commitment to diverse and inclusive education.

Architecture staff were particularly well represented in the Exceptional Feedback and Inspiring Teaching Delivery categories, with 13 names nominated across the two divisions.

Architecture Staff Nominated for Student Choice Awards

Brilliant Research Based Education

Jonathan Kendall

Amazing Support Staff

Zoe Lau
Diverse & Inclusive Education

Prof Mario Carpo

Excellent Personal Tutoring

Dr Ashley Dhanani

Exceptional Feedback

Alicia Gonzalez-Lafita Perez
Deborah Lopez Lobato
Maria Fulford
Oliver Houchell
Ruth Bernatek

Inspiring Teaching Delivery

Barry Wark
Henrietta Williams
Maria Knutson-Hall
Dr Sabina Andron
Stefan Lengen
Tim Waterman
Tom Holberton
Prof Yeoryia Manolopoulou

Outstanding Research Supervision

Enriqueta Llabres-Valls
Dr Sam Griffiths

Students across UCL submitted their nominations for the 2021 awards between 1 January and 28 March this year, with a record number of  nominations received.

UCL Provost Education Awards

These awards recognise both individual staff and teams who have made outstanding contributions to students’ lives, learning and future success. 

Staff and postgraduate teaching assistants were recognised across seven categories; among the nominations were the school’s exhibitions team, who have led the transformation of the Bartlett exhibitions calendar for the last year into an online programme of digital shows.

Architecture Staff Nominated for UCL Provost Education Awards

Academic Support

Elizabeth Dow

Assessment and Feedback

Stamatios Zografos

Education Success For All

Sara Shafiei

B-made team: Viktoria Viktorija, Mark Burrows, Niamh Grace, Martyn Carter, David Shanks

Eliminating Awarding Gaps

Architecture BSc (ARB/RIBA Part 1) Programme Directors: Ana Monrabal-Cook and Luke Pearson

Outstanding Response to Teaching and/or Support During a Pandemic 

Dr Brent Carnell

Postgraduate Teaching Assistants (PGTAs)

Architecture BSc (ARB/RIBA Part 1) PGTA team: Dovile Ciapaite, Elliot Nash, Jean-Baptiste Gilles, and Lina Sun

Staff-Student Partnership

The Bartlett School of Architecture Virtual Exhibition team: Prof Penelope Haralambidou, Chee-Kit Lai, David Shanks

The winners across both sets of awards will be announced on Wednesday 9 June.

More information

Image: Work in Progress from UG2, Architecture BSc unit taught Maria Knutson-Hall and Barry Wark nominated for inspiring teaching delivery. This year's students explore the 'natural state' of buildings in Rye.