The Bartlett School of Architecture


Three Bartlett alumni in the RIBA Rising Stars cohort

25 October 2017

Ben Ridley's work, Unit 11 Diploma 2008

The Winners

Three exceptional practitioners who graduated from The Bartlett have reached the 'final cohort' of the RIBA Journal's Rising Stars Awards. The 2017 winners, described by RIBA Journal as 'brave and resourceful', include Bartlett alumni Tumpa Husna Yasmin Fellows, Ben Ridley and Matthew Wilkinson:

Tumpa Husna Yasmin Fellows
Co-founder, Trustee, Mannan Foundation Trust 
Project Architect, Proctor and Matthews Architects
Reason for shortlisting: Giving ownership to life-improving projects for women in Bangladesh
BSc 2001 – 2005, Diploma 2006 – 2008, MArch 2010

Ben Ridley
Director, Architecture for London
Reason for shortlisting: Self awareness in setting up practice
BSc 2002 – 2005, Diploma 2006 – 2008

Matthew Wilkinson
Associate, AL_A
Reason for shortlisting: Redefining projects by design
BSc 2001 – 2004, Diploma 2006 – 2008

The Shortlist

Two additional Bartlett graduates were announced on the shortlist for the Rising Star Awards: Benjamin-Murray Allan and Max Dewdney. The shortlisted entrants were all noted for their achievements both within their own projects and beyond, and are expected to be names to follow in the future. Judges selected the shortlist of 16 from a strong field of practitioners based all around the UK, before choosing their winning cohort.

Benjamin-Murray Allan
Director, estudio b
Reason for shortlisting: Talented designer looking for collaborations and challenges
MArch 2012 – 2014

Max Dewdney
Founder, Max Dewdney Architects
Reason for shortlisting: Pushing boundaries in practice and academia
BSc 1997 – 2000, Diploma 2002 – 2004

About the RIBA Journal's Rising Stars

The Rising Stars Awards were established in 2016 to recognise the talent and hard work of young, pioneering members of the built environment community. All nominees qualified at Part 2 within the last ten years but have already made their mark early on in their careers.

Nominations were judged by Mary Duggan (Mary Duggan Architects), John Nordon (Pegasus Life), David Miller (David Miller Architects), Mark Skelly (Skelly and Couch) and Eleanor Young (RIBA Journal).

Image: Work by Ben Ridley as part of Architecture Diploma's Unit 11 in 2008.