XClose

UCL Institute of the Americas

Home
Menu

Academic and Teaching Staff

 


Professor Jonathan Bell 
Professor Jonathan Bell

Professor of US History

jonathan.bell@ucl.ac.uk

Recipient of Leverhulme Trust Major Research Fellowship: on research leave until September 2024


Dr William Booth
Dr William Booth

Lecturer (Teaching) in Latin American History

DEPARTMENTAL TUTOR
UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAMME DIRECTOR

william.booth@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Grace Carrington
Dr Grace Carrington

Research Fellow

g.carrington@ucl.ac.uk

 


Dr Néstor Castañeda
Dr Néstor Castañeda

Associate Professor of Latin American Political Economy

Director of Research
Deputy Director, UCL Social Data Institute

n.castaneda@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Enrique Castañón Ballivián
Dr Enrique Castañón Ballivián

Lecturer in International Development

Programme director: MSc Globalisation and Latin American Development
Joint Faculty Library Committee Representative

e.castanon@ucl.ac.uk


Professor Gareth Davies
Professor Gareth Davies

Professor of American History

DEPARTMENTAL GRADUATE TUTOR: RESEARCH
programme director MA united states studies

gareth.davies@ucl.ac.uk


Professor Paulo Drinot
Professor Paulo Drinot

Professor of Latin American History

paulo.drinot@ucl.ac.uk

On research leave from October 2021 to September 2024


Dr Par Engstrom
Dr Par Engstrom

Associate Professor of Human Rights

careers liaison tutor
programme director: msc International Relations of the Americas

p.engstrom@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Malu Gatto
Dr Malu Gatto

Associate Professor of Latin American Politics

INCLUSION LEAD

m.gatto@ucl.ac.uk

On research leave for Term 1 2022/2023


Dr Nadia Hilliard
Dr Nadia Hilliard

Lecturer in US Politics

Chair of postgraduate taught board of examiners

n.hilliard@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Aaron Hiltner 
Dr Aaron Hiltner

Lecturer (Teaching) in United States History

undergraduate admissions tutor
outreach/widening participation tutor

a.hiltner@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Joshua Hollands  
Dr Joshua Hollands

Lecturer (Teaching) in United States History

director of education
chair of departmental staff student consultative committee
chair of departmental teaching committee

j.hollands@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Zoe Hyman
Dr Zoe Hyman

Lecturer in US History

chair of Undergraduate Board of Examiners

z.hyman@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Kesewa John
Dr Kesewa John

Associate Lecturer (Teaching) in Caribbean History

year ABROAD TUTOR
affiliate tutor

kesewa.john@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Tony McCulloch
Dr Tony McCulloch

Associate Professor of North American Studies

Programme director: canadian studies

tony.mcculloch@ucl.ac.uk


Professor Kevin J. Middlebrook
Professor Kevin Middlebrook

Professor of Latin American Politics

programme director: ma latin american studies and msc latin american politics

k.middlebrook@ucl.ac.uk


Professor Maxine Molyneux
Professor Maxine Molyneux

Professor of Sociology

m.molyneux@ucl.ac.uk


Professor Iwan Morgan 
Professor Iwan Morgan (Emeritus)

Emeritus Professor of United States Studies

i.morgan@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Kate Quinn
Dr Kate Quinn

Associate Professor of Caribbean History

programme director: ma caribbean and latin american studies
department graduate tutor: taught

katherine.quinn@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Katherine Saunders-Hastings
Dr Katherine Saunders-Hastings

Lecturer in Latin American Studies

k.saunders-hastings@ucl.ac.uk

On maternity leave


Dr Patricio Simonetto
Dr Patricio Simonetto

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow

p.simonetto@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Nick Witham
Dr Nick Witham

Associate Professor of United States History

head of department

n.witham@ucl.ac.uk