XClose

UCL Institute of the Americas

Home
Menu

Academic and Teaching Staff

 


Professor Jonathan Bell 
Professor Jonathan Bell

Professor of US History

Head of Department

jonathan.bell@ucl.ac.uk


Dr William Booth
Dr William Booth

Lecturer (Teaching) in Latin American History

DEPARTMENTAL TUTOR
UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAMME DIRECTOR
chair of departmental Staff Student consultative committee(s)

william.booth@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Grace Carrington
Dr Grace Carrington

Research Fellow

g.carrington@ucl.ac.uk

 


Dr Néstor Castañeda
Dr Néstor Castañeda

Associate Professor in Latin American Political Economy

Programme director: MSc Globalisation and Latin American Development

Deputy Director, UCL Social Data Institute

n.castaneda@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Enrique Castañón Ballivián
Dr Enrique Castañón Ballivián

Lecturer in International Development


Professor Gareth Davies
Professor Gareth Davies

Professor of American History

DEPARTMENTAL GRADUATE TUTOR: RESEARCH STUDENTS
PROGRAMME DIRECTOR: ma us studies

gareth.davies@ucl.ac.uk


Professor Paulo Drinot
Professor Paulo Drinot

Professor of Latin American History

paulo.drinot@ucl.ac.uk

On research leave from October 2021 to September 2024


Dr Par Engstrom
Dr Par Engstrom

Associate Professor in Human Rights

Director of Education
CHAIR OF postgraduate Board of Examiners
CHAIR OF Departmental Teaching Committee
programme director: msc International Relations of the Americas

p.engstrom@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Malu Gatto
Dr Malu Gatto

Lecturer in Latin American Politics

Undergraduate Admissions Tutor
Outreach/Widening Participation Officer
INCLUSION LEAD

m.gatto@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Nadia Hilliard
Dr Nadia Hilliard

Lecturer in US Politics

CAREERS LIAISON TUTOR

n.hilliard@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Aaron Hiltner 
Dr Aaron Hiltner

Lecturer (Teaching) in United States History

STUDY abroad tutor (north America)
AFFILIATE TUTOR

a.hiltner@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Joshua Hollands  
Dr Joshua Hollands

Lecturer (Teaching) in United States History

j.hollands@ucl.ac.uk

Fulbright Scholar at Elon University for the academic year 2021-2022


Dr Zoe Hyman
Dr Zoe Hyman

Lecturer in US History

chair of Undergraduate Board of Examiners

z.hyman@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Kesewa John
Dr Kesewa John

Associate Lecturer (Teaching) in Caribbean History

STUDY ABROAD TUTOR (CARIBBEAN, LATIN AMERICA)
joint faculty library committee representative
Programme director: ma caribbean and latin american studies

kesewa.john@ucl.ac.uk


Professor Ricardo López-Pedreros
Professor Ricardo López-Pedreros

Leverhulme Visiting Professor

r.lopez-pedreros@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Tony McCulloch
Dr Tony McCulloch

Associate Professor in North American Studies

Programme director: canadian studies
GRADUATE TUTOR: TAUGHT
EXTERNAL CIRCUMSTANCES PANEL CHAIR

tony.mcculloch@ucl.ac.uk


Professor Kevin J. Middlebrook
Professor Kevin Middlebrook

Professor of Latin American Politics

programme director: ma latin american studies and msc latin american politics

k.middlebrook@ucl.ac.uk


Professor Maxine Molyneux
Professor Maxine Molyneux

Professor of Sociology

m.molyneux@ucl.ac.uk


Professor Iwan Morgan 
Professor Iwan Morgan (Emeritus)

Emeritus Professor of United States Studies

i.morgan@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Emily Morris
Dr Emily Morris

Associate Staff

emily.morris@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Kate Quinn
Dr Kate Quinn

Associate Professor in Caribbean History

katherine.quinn@ucl.ac.uk

On research leave until Summer 2022


Dr Katherine Saunders-Hastings
Dr Katherine Saunders-Hastings

Lecturer in Latin American Studies

k.saunders-hastings@ucl.ac.uk

On maternity leave as of 02.08.21


Dr Patricio Simonetto
Dr Patricio Simonetto

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow

p.simonetto@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Nick Witham
Dr Nick Witham

Associate Professor of United States History

DirECTOR OF RESEARCH

n.witham@ucl.ac.uk