UCL Institute of the Americas


Book launch: US-Cuba Relations: The Inside Story of the 2014 Breakthrough

31 January 2023, 5:30 pm–7:00 pm

Book cover: Anuncios del 17 De Diciembre de 2014 en La Habana y Washington D. C.

An event part of the UCL Institute of the Americas Caribbean Seminar Series

This event is free.

Event Information

Open to







UCL Institute of the Americas


G03 Lecture Theatre
26 Bedford Way
United Kingdom

Dr José Ramón Cabañas will talk about his new book, Anuncios del 17 De Diciembre de 2014 en La Habana y Washington D. C. (December 17th 2014 announcements in Havana and Washington)

Dr Cabañas was head of Cuba’s US Interests Section on December 17th 2014, when Presidents Raúl Castro and Barack Obama announced the restoration of diplomatic relations after over 50 years. His new book documents and explains the background and significance of this historic moment in international relations.


About the Speaker

Dr José Ramón Cabañas Rodríguez

Director at Research Centre for International Policy (CIPI, Centro de Investigaciones de la Política Internacional), Havana, Cuba

Dr Cabañas Rodríguez is currently the director of Cuba’s Centre for International Policy Research (CIPI, Centro de Investigaciones de la Política Internacional) and professor at the Raúl Roa García Higher Institute for International Relations (ISRI, Instituto Superior de Relaciones Internationales) in Havana. Following the 2014 announcement he became Ambassador to the US, and during his 37 years in the Cuban diplomatic service he has also been deputy minister of foreign relations, deputy director of the ministry’s US and Canada desk, director of consular affairs and of Cubans residing abroad, Ambassador to Austria, Cuba’s permanent representative to international organizations in Vienna, and a member of Cuban delegations to the United Nations General Assembly. His forthcoming book, Treinta miradas desde Cuba en tiempos de pandemia (Thirty views from Cuba in times of pandemic) will be published in 2023.

Other events in this series