XClose

UCL Alumni

Home
Menu

Volunteer now

Our volunteering opportunities are designed to help you stay connected, share knowledge and play an active role in supporting our global alumni community. All roles are run on a termly basis and have flexible time commitments. We can help fit them around your availability - whether you’ve got 10 minutes or 10 hours to spare!

A UCL volunteer chats to a fellow student at an event

To hear the latest and receive regular updates on Alumni Volunteering at UCL, subscribe to Volume

Volume
is a mailing for all alumni interested in hearing more about volunteering - whether or not you've volunteered before.

We'll share live opportunities - from speaking at events, to becoming a mentor, sharing your story or supporting students and fellow alumni.
 

Subscribe to Volume

 

Digital volunteering opportunities

Ask Our Alumni virtual events

Bring the prospectus to life and inspire the next generation of students from your region.

Through a mix of whole group discussion and themed breakout rooms, we aim to informally connect prospective students with alumni in this successful virtual event series. Provide useful insight to those with an offer to study at UCL, support them to make the most of their time in London, and grow your own network. If you graduated within the last 10 years, could speak enthusiastically about your UCL experience, and share a short overview of your background and career to date, please sign up to join one or more of the events in your region. 

Time commitment: 1.5 hours per event

Register interest by clicking on your regional event link(s) below.

A briefing, including joining instructions, will be sent ahead of the event to the email used at registration. You will join 15 minutes prior to the event start for introductions, a tech check, and recap of your role.

Date

Event

Event time (local)

Event time (UK)

 
Ask Our Alumni Week 1 
 

21-Mar

North America 1

08:15 - 09:30 EDT

12:15 - 13:30 GMT

22-Mar

Mainland China (Postgraduate)

19:00 - 20:15 CST

11:00 - 12:15 GMT

23-Mar

Europe

18:00 - 19:15 CET

17:00 - 18:15 GMT

24-Mar

Hong Kong (SAR)

19:00 - 20:15 HKT

11:00 - 12:15 GMT

 
Ask Our Alumni Week 2
 
 

28-Mar

South Asia 1

19:00 - 20:15 IST

14:30 - 15:45 BST

29-Mar

South East Asia

19:00 - 20:15 ICT

12:00 - 13:15 BST

30-Mar

UK (Undergraduate)

18:30 - 19:45 BST

18:30 - 19:45 BST

 
Ask Our Alumni Week 3
 
 

04-Apr

North America 2

08:15 - 09:30 PDT

16:15 - 17:30 BST

05-Apr

South Asia 2

19:00 - 20:15 IST

14:30 - 15:45 BST

06-Apr

Mainland China (Undergraduate)

19:00 - 20:15 CST

12:00 - 13:15 GMT

06-Apr

UK (Postgraduate)

18:30 - 19:45 BST

18:30 - 19:45 BST

07-Apr

Latin America and the Caribbean

12:30 - 13:45 CDT

18:30 - 19:45 BST

UCL Bentham Connect: Graduate Guide

As a Graduate Guide on UCL Bentham Connect, your profile would be advertised as a key point of contact to alumni and current students. Enquiries could vary from those looking for a mentoring relationship, to those wanting to ask a quick question or simply have a chat with someone new.

Register your interest

Alumni Profiles

Could you support the next generation of students?

By sharing your UCL experience, you can inspire and advise students around the world as they grapple with one of life's biggest decisions

Time commitment: 30 minutes

Complete our short form

Professional development roles 

Support students and fellow alumni to develop and refine key professional development skills such as 'Leadership and Management' and 'Presenting and Public Speaking'. Share your expertise through case studies and articles; discuss and debate on a UCL Connect podcast; or engage and inspire others by being part of a webinar.

These roles aim to provide a platform for you to share advice from your area of expertise, and support students and alumni with honing the professional development skills that will enable them to thrive in their careers.

Register your interest

Please note that we may not be able to accommodate your support right away. However, please do register your interest, so we can keep you in mind for these roles and any similar opportunities in the future.  

Connect with your alumni community (currently on hold)

In-person volunteering is currently on hold. Please contact us for more information.

We're here to support our thriving alumni communities across the globe. But they wouldn't exist without the ongoing and invaluable support of our volunteers. 

Organising a reunion

Reconnect with your classmates and share what you’re up to now by organising a reunion. Whether it’s your first get-together or your twentieth, our alumni team are here to support you – be it picking the right venue, advertising via email or social media, or just tips for making your reunion a success. 

Time commitment: 3 hours per week in lead up to the event 

Find out more about organising a reunion

Hosting an event in your space or workplace 

If you don’t have the time to volunteer, sharing your space with the UCL Alumni Relations team can be just as valuable. We’re always on the lookout for new and interesting rooms to host events such as alumni receptions and reunion events across the globe. 

How to apply: Fill out an interest form today and let us know where your space is. 

Submit your space

Hosting a global internship

If you’re already in the workplace, hosting an internship is a great way to give current UCL students the chance to experience a real working environment. And for your employer, it’s an opportunity to tap into the next generation of talent. 

Time commitment: 15-20 hours to set-up. Open to employers based overseas. This opportunity is currently on hold.

Find out more and apply here