Institute of Healthy Ageing
University College London
UCL Logo
Image: Institute of Healthy Ageing

C. elegans laboratory (David Gems)

Understanding the biology of longevity and ageing using a nematode model
The nature of the biological mechanisms at the heart of the ageing process is one of the greatest unsolved mysteries in science. An ideal model organism in which to study ageing is the free-living nematode Caenorhabditis elegans. This species has well-developed genetics, its ~100 million base pair genome is fully sequenced, and its life span is a mere 2-3 weeks. Importantly, numerous mutations have been identified in C. elegans which alter the rate of ageing, with some mutants living up to 10-times longer than wild-type worms. By understanding ageing in a simple animal like C. elegans we hope to begin to unravel the mystery of human ageing, and the wide range of diseases that it causes, from cardiovascular disease and type II diabetes, to Alzheimer's disease and cancer.

A focus of current work in this laboratory is understanding the genes and biochemical processes by which reduced insulin/IGF-1 signalling and dietary restriction increase lifespan. Other interests include sex differences in the biology of ageing, the role of the microbiome in ageing, evolutionary conservation of mechanisms of ageing, the mechanisms of organismal death, and bioethical implications of ageing research. Our work is largely funded by the European Union and the Wellcome Trust.

Research Team

Ahmed Ahmed, Research technician
Catherine Au, Research technician, email: catherine.au@ucl.ac.uk
Alex Benedetto, Postdoc, email: a.benedetto@ucl.ac.uk
Marina Ezcurra, Postdoc, email: marina.ezcurra@ucl.ac.uk
Kalina Cetnar, Undergraduate project student, email: kalina.cetnar@gmail.com
David Gems (PI), Professor of Biogerontology, email: david.gems@ucl.ac.uk
Ann Gilliat, Graduate student, email: ann.gilliat@gmail.com
David McBay, Undergraduate project student, email: david.mcbay.11@ucl.ac.uk
Genevieve Saw, Masters student, email: genevieve.saw.13@ucl.ac.uk
Thanet Sornda, Graduate student, email: thanet.sornda.13@ucl.ac.uk
Jennifer Tullet, Postdoc, email: j.tullet@ucl.ac.uk
Yuan Zhao, Postdoc, email: yuan.zhao.08@ucl.ac.uk

Recent events

Spring 2014: Publication in the journals PLoS Genetics and Cell Reports of two new studies on the regulation of ageing by the FoxO transcription factor, see Publications

Short film about Gems lab work


Institute of Healthy Ageing, and G.E.E., University College London, The Darwin Building, Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT. Tel: +44 (0) 207 679 4381 E-mail: david.gems@ucl.ac.uk

Updated on 1st September 2014

Image: DAF-2 receptor
Homology model of DAF-2 receptor showing mutant lesions. Green = class 1, red = class 2, black= non-conditional alleles (Genetics, 2008)

Links
Gems Lab Publications | About David Gems | Ph.D. opportunities in Gems lab | IHA main page | Genetics, Evolution and Environment | UCL home page

C. elegans Links
What is C. elegans | Wormbase | C. elegans Genetics Center | bionet.celegans newsgroup | Info from C. elegans labs | Nematode Net

More links
NCBI | CEE | Who's Who in Gerontology | Enhancement Technologies | UCL Library | PubMed | Google


University College London - Gower Street - London - WC1E 6BT - Telephone: +44 (0)20 7679 2000 - Copyright © 1999-2005 UCL


Search by Google