The Constitution Unit


Independent Commission on Referendums

Read the Commission’s full report here

Read the report’s summary and recommendations here

Read a blogpost outlining the Commission and its recommendations here

The Constitution Unit established an Independent Commission on Referendums in autumn 2017 to review the role of referendums in British democracy and consider how the rules and practice could be improved.

The 12 distinguished Commission members included two former cabinet-level ministers, four other current and former parliamentarians, the former Chair of the Electoral Commission and a former head of political programming at the BBC. Others were leaders in the fields of political theory, media standards and public opinion. They represent a range of political opinions, with expertise extending across all major UK referendums of recent years.

The Commission deliberated over eight months and took evidence in all four parts of the UK. Its report makes almost 70 detailed recommendations, every one of which was agreed unanimously. 

ICR Logo
Commission Members
How the Commission worked
Blog posts
In the media
Parliamentary Impact