About Me

Update: I received my PhD at UCL in October 2011. For a more up-to-date profile visit my linkedin profile.


I am a research student at the UCL Centre for Sustainable Heritage. My research interests are material degradation particularly in a heritage science context. Prior to moving to the UK in 2008, I lived in Malta were I was born, with brief periods living in Germany and the Czech Republic. I also spent a month doing voluntary work in Cairo Egypt, organising a summer school for children living in Muqattam.

bike fixing - Cycletastic

Besides my academic activities, I have also always been involved in community organisations. Currently I am a member of the community organisation Cycletastic in Kilburn which aims to improve access to cycling to the community, mainly through cycle maintenance events and bike maintenance workshops. I am mainly involved in cycle maintenance events. There I act as the liaising person between the public and the bike fixers, ensuring that things move smoothly.

While living in Malta I was then very active in my town's community. After becoming a member of the local youth centre, I then became a youth leader in the town's youth centre. In this position I was responsible with a team of others to prepare weekly meetings for 13-15 year olds as well as regular activities to keep them engaged. I also represented the youth centre on the town's youth council for the last five of these eight years.

As the youth centre was part of a national network of youth centres (ZAK), in 2005 I had the opportunity to represent the national organisation, ZAK, on the National Youth Council. In 2005-2007 I was also a youth leader for 11-12 year olds in the capital city's youth group.

Between 2004 and 2008 I played softball, first with the Angels team (2004-2007), of which I was a co-captain (2006-2007, and then with the Devils softball team. In 2005-2008 I was also a member of the Malta softball national team. During this time I won the most valuable player award (2007) for the way I interacted and worked with the other team members. On the subject of sports, I obtained the PADI Advanced Open water licence in 2007.

Now that I am in London I am trying to experience as much of what London has to offer. I am enjoying experiencing the variety of activities on offer, from guest lectures, to comedy nights, Shakespeare plays to contemporay dance shows.