UCL Department of Science, Technology, Engineering and Public Policy


Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Doctoral study at UCL STEaPP offers the opportunity to become a world-class interdisciplinary researcher at the interface of science and public policy.

Students undertaking doctoral study investigate and experiment with the ways science and engineering knowledge shapes decision-making and helps to address today’s major global challenges.

To find out core information about this degree, such as entry requirements, programme length and cost, visit the UCL prospectus site.

Course information

On this page, additional information is provided concerning training elements and supervisors.

Training elements

The taught component of the programme consists of five core training elements (modules from STEaPP) and two specialisation training elements (modules from STEaPP or a sister department within UCL BEAMS). The core modules are the following:


Dr Irina Brass - Associate Professor of Regulation, Innovation and Public Policy
Professor Madeline Carr - Professor of Global Politics and Cybersecurity and Director of RISCS
Professor Joanna Chataway - Professor of Science and Technology Policy and Head of Department
Dr Adam Cooper - Associate Professor of Policy Research and Practice
Dr Ellie Cosgrave - Associate Professor of Urban Innovation and Director of City Leadership Laboratory
Dr Jean-Christophe (JC) Mauduit - Lecturer in Science Diplomacy
Dr Jenny McArthur - Lecturer in Urban Infrastructure and Policy
Professor Geoff Mulgan - Professor of Collective Intelligence, Public Policy and Social Innovation
Dr Julius Mugwagwa - Associate Professor of Innovation and Development
Professor Yacob Mulugetta - Professor of Energy and Development Policy and Department Graduate Tutor (Research)
Professor Arthur Petersen - Professor of Science, Technology and Public Policy and Director of Doctoral Studies
Dr Ine Steenmans - Lecturer in Futures, Analysis and Policy
Dr Leonie Tanczer - Lecturer in International Security and Emerging Technologies 
Dr Chris Tyler - Associate Professor in Science Policy and Knowledge Infrastructure and Director of Research and Policy
Dr Carla-Leanne Washbourne - Associate Professor of Environmental Science and Policy
Professor Jeremy Watson CBE - Professor of Engineering Systems and Director and PI of PETRAS Centre of Excellence


Professor Yacob Mulugetta, yacob.mulugetta@ucl.ac.uk