Study Abroad at UCL


Module levels and credits

You'll notice that modules are sometimes given a level; these are intended to indicate the amount of prerequisite knowledge required for the modules.

Which module level is right for me?

  • Level 1 (FHEQ 4) modules are usually introductory and would be appropriate as an option outside your main subject area, to broaden your scope.
  • Levels 2 and 3 (FHEQ 5 and 6) will normally require prior study.
  • Level 4 (FHEQ 7) modules are the most advanced on offer.
  • Core modules may be compulsory, for example the Core modules for International Relations and Political Science, but they do not usually require any prerequisite knowledge.

How are my credits worked out?

Most modules are worth either 30 credits (for modules that run over a full year) or 15 credits (for those that run over one term). A 30 credit module is equivalent to 8 US credits, 15 ECTS or 30 FHEQ, and a 15 credit module is equivalent to 4 US credits, 7.5 ECTS or 15 FHEQ. However the above should be considered as a guide only as US institutions may have differing equivalences.