Homepage Timeline Maps A-Z index Learning

Dynasty 21 (1070/69-946/945 BC)

The high priest of Amun in Thebes

Dynasty 22 (946/45-about 735 BC)

(after Osorkon II Egypt is no longer united: several kings still rule from Tanis, the others in Upper Egypt)

The Upper Egyptian line

Dynasty 23 (818-715 BC)

(a term from the Hellenistic kinglists, applied by different Egyptologists to different groupings of kings: it is used here for numerous local kings of the late ninth and eighth centuries, not ruling from Tanis, whose rulers form the Twenty-second Dynasty, or from Sais, whose rulers form the Twenty-fourth Dynasty)

Dynasty 24 (727-715 BC)

Dynasty 25 (747-656 BC)


Copyright © 2000 University College London. All rights reserved.